Lifehack logo

Five Strategies for Better Sleep

Here is what has worked for me

By Brian JantziPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Five Strategies for Better Sleep
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

One resolution I have made over the years is to try and recognize what habits to keep. I have the same sleep challenges that most people have - too much end-of-day anxiety, self-talk and pent-up tension. I am fortunate, however, to have learned a number of solid strategies for pushing these things aside at the end of the day and focusing on getting a good nights sleep.

Good sleep provides a foundation for all of us to meet our waking hours with the most, best energy we can. Without it, our bodies don’t process cortisol effectively. As a result, we can spend out days both tired (for lack of sleep) and still stressed out because we didn’t get the rest we need.

Everyone has different needs but I offer five things that have helped me to improve and enhance my sleep in the past few years.

Try a supplement

No, I’m not suggesting that we all try sleeping pills. I have just found that a sleep supplement works well for me. Some people like St. John’s Wort or Valerian but I have found that Melatonin does the trick for me.

As it says on the bottle of every supplement, discuss these options with a doctor before proceeding. Use as directed by a professional.

Release the noise

I read Deepak Chopra’s Restful Sleep a few years ago and one of the abiding lessons from this book is the need to start winding down at least an hour before going to bed.

This means turning off electronic devices and turning one’s attention to the important business of relaxing. Some people might listen to soothing music while others may meditate on the essence of their day. All of us can do this without the distraction of a television in the background or a phone in our hand.

This is not an incidental commitment. I try to dedicate a full hour to winding down before bedtime without any noise or screens to distract me.

Breathe better

Singers and yogis know that we breathe better from the belly, not the chest. Fifteen minutes of concentrated, focused breathing that flows through the body is another strategy I use daily to fulfil my sleep resolution.

You are taking an hour to wind down, right? Take your time to monitor and modulate your breath. Are you breathing quickly, almost panting? Are you fully inhaling and exhaling?

Ease into a slow, breathing pattern. Inhale through your nostrils, fill your belly with air and then exhale deeply through your mouth.

Keep this practice going until you start to feel the tension release from your body and your breathing becomes more relaxed. Focus on your feelings. Enjoy each breath.

Cover your eyes

Once you are settled in, a mask or hood covering your eyes can also be a big help. Personally, I have found the best results with my Nite Hood.

A mask or hood is especially helpful if you have a digital clock in your room or if you use your phone as your alarm clock. Pull the blinds tightly to ensure that external light can’t find its way into your room. Make the room as dark as you can but start by covering up.

Sleep Alone

Sometimes the best thing you can do for those you love is to give them some space. I am not a peaceful sleeper. I thrash. I snore. I drool. My more placid spouse sleeps just a few feet away from me but always in her own bed. I believe that it his one of the major reasons we have been together for 26 years.

These things work for me. Talk to professionals in addition to testing what works for you. Once you have come up with your personalized action plan, it will turn resolutions into results.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Brian Jantzi

I am writer based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.