Lifehack logo

EXERCISE: STRENGTH TRAINING - THE KEY TO YOUR FITNESS GOALS

“What is the role of strength training in achieving fitness goals?”

By Gary FooPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

Hi friends,

My fitness goals through strength training evolved over time:

1. STAYING ALIVE AND STAYING HEALTHY

2. BUILDING MUSCLES, BURNING FAT

3. STAYING STRONG FOR MY FAMILY

Before I started strength training years ago, I weighed around 110kg (245lbs). My fat belly was like a GIANT BALLOON that I couldn't hide, no matter what I did.

My wife used to TEASE me that my back was more attractive than my front, but after seeing that picture of me and my daughter in our swimwear, I think she might be right. my belly was so big, it looked like a BEACHED WHALE behind her. It was both hilarious and sobering.

I live in the great city of Penang, a FOODIE’S PARADISE. Keeping my mouth shut around these sumptuous delicacies was painfully difficult.

But I knew that I had to make a change. I witnessed the devastating effects of chronic disease among my friends and loved ones. The WAKEUP CALL was loud and clear.

My fitness goal back then was straightforward:

1. STAY ALIVE AND STAY HEALTHY.

I never thought I'd be the type of person who enjoyed weightlifting. But then my wife DRAGGED me to the gym, and everything changed.

The first time we did the TRX reverse crunch – or what we called the “SHRIMP” workout - I felt like a shrimp struggling to escape a net. My core was burning like a firecracker, and I was convinced my abs were going to burst into flames. But I kept coming back.

The more I worked out, the stronger I got. And the stronger I got, the more I started to ENJOY THE GRIND. I loved the feeling of pushing myself to my limits and seeing the results of my hard work.

Then I found out about the AFTERBURN EFFECT. Muscles burn more calories than fat, and the burn continues even after your workout is over. That means I could be chilling on my couch, watching Netflix, and my body is still hard at work burning those fatties away!

That was the final straw. I was HOOKED. My fitness goals were upgraded to:

2. BUILDING MUSCLES, BURNING FAT

I learnt that to build more muscles, I must shock them up with increasing weight, which is fancily known as Progressive Overload. The progressive increase in weights in weightlifting forces my muscles to grow during rest and recovery.

I have a clear focus now: MUSCLE-BUILDING. I've been doing weightlifting and eating decently healthy food, and I've gained 10 pounds of muscle in the past 6 months.

One of the funniest things about going to the gym is seeing the gym buddies (mostly female) ADMIRING THEMSELVES in front of the gym mirror and flexing just the right amount of their biceps to get that perfect mirror reflection for their SELFIE. I can't help but laugh at myself when I do the same thing.

My biceps are starting to look like Popeye's forearms too, and my GLUTES are so tight, my wife can't keep her hands off them. (She even started squeezing them while I was sleeping.)

My teenage daughter started to notice too. She EXCLAIMED to me one day, "Pa, you've lost weight!"

My ego is so INFLATED, I could float away. But seriously, I'm feeling great. I'm stronger and more confident than ever before.

Now, my fitness goals have evolved:

3. STAYING STRONG FOR MY FAMILY

Staying strong for my family is more important to me than ever before. It's what keeps me PUSHING myself to lift heavier weights and shed 20kg, melting away like butter on a hot skillet.

I'm not saying I'm a bodybuilder, but my biceps are so big they have their own zip codes. Just kidding.

But seriously, building a good physique is more than just about vanity. It's about being able to help my wife around the house without feeling exhausted. And it's about having the energy to live life to the fullest with my family.

There you have it. My evolving fitness goals through strength training over time:

1. STAYING ALIVE AND STAYING HEALTHY

2. BUILDING MUSCLES, BURNING FAT

3. STAYING STRONG FOR MY FAMILY

Have I helped you find yours?

As THE WORD goes, “I can do ALL things through HIM who strengthens me.”

Visit » STRENGTH TRAINING: BUILD THE BODY YOU WANT AND THE LIFE YOU DESERVE! You might find what you need to achieve your goals!

Faithfully Yours, Gary

Subscribe to my newsletters for free firsthand tips on health and fitness: Fit40Strong's tips!

OR Check out my blog on Strength Training: Unleash Your Inner Potential!

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.