Lifehack logo

Draught of Living Death DIY Potion

A Harry Potter Activity for Potion Masters

By Celestial BardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

We've all wanted an owl to come swooping in with a Hogwarts acceptance letter right? Attend fun classes like Defense Against the Dark Arts, Transfiguration, and maybe... potions?

This is an idea for a DIY project I came up with recently for a decoration project in the form of a potion. More specifically, a Draught of Living Death potion. In the wrong hands, it could prove disastrous for it is a powerful sleeping potion. This begs the question as to why teaching this is part of the curriculum at Hogwarts.

Well, let's put that aside for now. I came up with this DIY because a) I'm a little broad, b) I like to make stuff, and c) I want more Harry Potter merch to decorate my room with at a cheap price. I'd like to share this with others because it is an enjoyable project. You might create this for yourself or as a gift to a Potterhead in your life. It could even be a Halloween Project or prop if you so wish. I also invite you to make alterations to suit your tastes such as materials for a different kind of potion. So without further ado, let's begin!

Step One: Gather material and tools.

  • A "Potion Bottle" - This could be almost any small bottle. It could be fancy or plain. Plastic or Glass. I recommend plastic if you want the chances of your potion bottle breaking to be lowered. For this DIY, I chose an empty essential oil bottle.
  • Used Coffee Grounds - If you don't have coffee grounds (ironically a stimulant ingredient to make a depressant product), you could also possibly use grease or food coloring.
  • Funnel - If you don't have a funnel, you could use a piece of paper like I did.
  • Water - Tap water would be fine.
  • A Glue Gun and Glue Sticks - Kids, I recommend you get an adult to help you with this tool. I can't count the number of times I accidentally burnt myself with a glue gun. I also recommend in general to use something that can't burn or melt to put it on when not in use.
  • Labels - For this I recommend self stick labels that you might put on a letter or use as a name tag.
  • Black Permanent Marker - If you want to get creative, use a variety to decorate your labels.

Step Two: "Make potion."

Funnel the coffee grounds into your chosen potion bottle, if you have a small opening. If you do not have a funnel, a piece of paper rolled into a cylinder should work. Add the water and cap the bottle. Shake it up so the coffee begins to dye the water.

Step Three: Seal bottle.

Now here's where the glue gun comes in. Since this project is meant to be a decoration, you don't want the potion actually being drunk or spilled in any way. You will use the glue gun to seal it off by spreading glue along the seam between the bottle and cap. Remove excess glue if there is any present.

Step Four: Label potion.

Finally, every good potion's master remembers to label his potions, so he doesn't mix them up. Take your label and place it on the bottle. If it's too long, tear off the sides. In my opinion, it makes the label look cooler. Now use the permanent marker to label it.

Conclusion

And you're done. Now you have a powerful sleeping potion in your possession and a cute decoration. I hope you found this activity as fun as I did and I hope you put your own spin on the idea if you wanted to. All there is to say is enjoy, be creative, and have a nice day and bye!

crafts
1

About the Creator

Celestial Bard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.