Lifehack logo

Dealing with Success & Failure

What do you do in either situation?

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
11
Dealing with Success & Failure
Photo by Susan Q Yin on Unsplash

It's been a long time since I've written. A lot has happened. I got married. I have added responsibilities at home and at work.

Just a lot.

But whenever I have time, I find myself reflecting on how exactly it is that I deal with changes in my life. Whether it be good changes or changes that I don't exactly enjoy, I sat down and came up with these few things that help me cope with success and failure in my life.

SUCCESS - How do I handle it?

Treat Yourself

Over the past 36 years that I've been alive, my parents have always taught me that things don't come easy. I always had to work hard to top my class just to get that new bicycle, extra pocket money, and what-have-yous. It's ingrained in me now, that whenever I succeed in something, even if it's as trivial as cleaning out my closet and donating the clothes to the less-fortunate, I treat myself to some sort of reward.

My favourite reward is usually a good meal - especially if I'm craving for something. *pats tummy*

Stay Confident

It's a bit pointless if you succeed in something only to end up telling yourself that you didn't deserve it, or you can't do it, or any of those negative stuff. Impostor's Syndrome, much?

I like to keep my head up and tell myself that whatever opportunity comes in hand has got to be for the best in me, and I'm sure if I succeeded in something, it must've meant I really want it and deserve it in the first place, right?

But … Don't Get Ahead of Yourself

I said I keep my head up, but not all the way up. I think it's important that I always stay grounded. There's no point going around telling the whole world.. "See! I also can dooo itttt!", only to end up falling flat on your face. In fact, succeeding in something is just step one. Keeping it up is where the hard work really is.

What about FAILURE?

Smile

I think to get extremely demotivated when I fail. And when I say extremely, I mean extremely demotivated. I used to cry, wail, complain a lot if something wouldn't go my way.

I admit, I still do all these things, but in moderation. It's fine to feel sad, but it's not okay to brood about it forever. Cry if you must, I believe, but once you're done letting all the frustration out, smile. It really does help.

Hey, It's OK!

It's OK. People make mistakes. Life isn't fair, they say, but life isn't unfair either. We get what is coming to us, and if we fail, it just means that we didn't put as much effort as we could have, or we weren't aware of what we could've done better.

I smile, tell myself it's okay, and move on to doing something that I may be already good at, or I just take a break, promising myself that I would take the initiative to better myself.

But … Don't Forget to Learn

I have this cynical way of looking at mistakes. I believe in watching and learning from other people's mistakes so that I can learn and improve from them - avoiding any possibilities of me making the same mistake. I know, it sounds evil, but it's just another step ahead from "learn from your own mistakes".

Mistakes are made for a reason, and whether it was made by you or someone else, learn. If we keep reliving the mistake, then, well, people have the right to call us whatever names they want. And if you can't understand from your own perspective, you can't see what went wrong, get another person's point of view.

Take note that a million people will tell you a million things, but don't take yourself out of your own shoes. See if what they say makes sense in your case and apply. Logic and emotions combined make a pretty useful tool, if you ask me.

So there. These are the generic ways on how I deal with my successes and failures. Sounds really easy, doesn't it?

Tell me how you deal with your success and failures - I would sure like to learn! :)

how to
11

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Elizabeth Stiff3 months ago

    Isn't this a lot of us? It's certainly me. Thankyou for sharing a delightful article xx

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    I enjoyed the treat yourself! I used to do that system with alcohol and drugs. Now that I am off the sauce, so to speak, I am not sure how I do that but I know I do! I am going to pay attention to that more. Thank you!😊💕❤️

  • Sam Eliza Green6 months ago

    I loved reading about your "treat yourself" system. When I was busy juggling essays in college while writing my first book, my favorite little treat was gelato :). It is easy to fall into a failure slump. It was helpful to read your thoughts about overcoming failure.

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Congratulations on your marriage! What a thoughtful share! Keep writing from your heart unfiltered. It suits you.

  • Colt Henderson6 months ago

    This had helpful information. I have learned a lot from my failures.

  • Test6 months ago

    First of all congratulations on getting married! Love the positivity in this piece. I'm a crier -happy of sad so success and faliure bring tears usually. Think both should be taken with a bit of a pinch of salt. Sometimes things go your way, sometmes they don't 🤍 Thank you for sharing!

  • Omgggg, you know what? I watch and learn from other people's mistakes too because I don't wanna make any mistakes if possible. Lol. Thank you so much for sharing that! Makes me feel not so alone 😁

  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    Nice! Mistakes are lessons, so whether made by you or someone else, they teach. Persistence rules! When things drag you down, continue with persistence, and the reward will come - maybe not when you think it should show up, but it comes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.