Lifehack logo

Create Yourself

Create Happiness

By shallon gregersonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Create Yourself

Do you ever look at somebody and wonder.. what are they thinking? Reading someone’s mind could be an awesome superpower! However, according to science, we cannot telepathically communicate, nor does any human have the power to read minds. I know, I know, what a bummer huh? Let me ask you another question. Do you have memories? Of course you do, all humans do. Would you like to preserve those memories? Put the memory somewhere that you could never forget them? Or how about a fear, or a medical condition, such as anxiety? How do you cope with these things? Well, let’s talk about something that truly changed my life. Not only is it fun, and amazingly helpful, it has somewhat cured me, of all the mentioned above. What is this life changing craft, which I speak? It’s called Journaling!

“Journal writing, when it becomes a ritual for transformation, is not only life-changing but life-expanding.” – Jen Williamson

A lot of people write their thoughts down, in a journal. Many people have told me, a journal is too much like a diary, and that it isn’t for them. In fact, many people don’t realize the difference between the two. A diary, records certain events, dated in order of happening. A journal uses your mind's creativity. You can explore deep within yourself, discover hidden treasures, you didn’t know existed. Journaling is a great way to self-reflect. By knowing yourself, you understand how to accept and love number one...YOU!

“Every secret of a writer’s soul, every experience of his life, every quality of his mind, is written large in his works.” – Virginia Woolf

There is no one way, or one type of journal. And there isn’t anything you cannot journal about! So, what types of journaling is there? Well, the list is very long. Any topic you can imagine, can go into journaling. A few of my favorites though, include:

A blank journal, which is full of blank pages,

A dream or travel journal, to jot down dreams you consider important and places you would or will to travel,

A gratitude journal, used for keeping your mind positive and to remember to be thankful for what you have! (I love putting positive quotes in mine!)

Pregnancy journal, this was such a must for me with each of my four babies! All the little things, that only happen once, I remember because of my journal.

The categories don’t stop there! A few other things ANYONE can journal about, include: Fitness, Health, Poem, Art, Prayer, Food and so much more!

I don’t journal to ‘be productive.’ I don’t do it to find great ideas or to put down prose I can later publish. The pages aren’t intended for anyone but me. It’s the most cost-effective therapy I’ve ever found.” – Tim Ferriss

I like to think of journaling as my very own biography, counselor, and friend. When I need to vent, or need a minute to just breath, I always reach for my journal. I go somewhere quiet, even if it’s for a short minute or two. I’ll write down a few words, sentences or even doodle a picture, to remind me that I am okay. Clearing my mind of negative thoughts and energies, really helps my mood!

Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open.” — Natalie Goldberg,

Have a fear? Or maybe, something you feel you need to overcome? Even if you are embarrassed to speak to another human at first. Your journal will never tell anyone! Once you release the pressure that builds and builds, like a ton of bricks on your chest. Letting it out, even on paper, lifts that weight. You are able to breath again.

Preserve your memories, keep them well, what you forget you can never retell.” – Louisa May Alcott

Each of us are so different and yet so unique. Recording the important things, adding photos and having those memories to look back on….it’s truly amazing! You don’t have to have just one journal either. You can have as many as you wish, about as many things as you like.

Journaling, for myself, started as a craft. At first I wasn’t sure if I should do it. I stuck to it. The more pages I finished, the happier I became. Journaling has taught me so much about myself, helped me to get through the hardest of times, and is a special thing I now do with my children. Creativity is inside each and everyone of us! Journaling showed me a new way to be, it can do the same for anyone!

crafts
1

About the Creator

shallon gregerson

I conspire, create and love making my mind think

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.