Lifehack logo

Chime: a completely shameless plug for referral dollars

How to get your refund early, and maybe even get a $100 bonus

By Theis OrionPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Chime: a completely shameless plug for referral dollars
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

So, I did my taxes last week. On Turbotax. It was even free, and they cheered me on the whole way so that I wouldn't get lost or give up.

This was probably necessary, because relaxing as filling in blanks can be, there's always some moment when it all just feels like too much. And that moment can easily turn into a week or more of procrastination.

But I was in the unique position of needing money--and seriously, I needed that money, like, years ago. So I was looking for anything to help me speed through the race, and more importantly, anything to help me receive my prized refund a little faster.

I did not opt for the Credit Karma account which would have allowed me to get a portion of my federal refund instantly--and evidently without the fees that many tax preparers charge for the service (oh how I groan to think of the times I paid $350 for that quick money...)

This is because I'm turning a new leaf, so I was not going to fall for any funny money business, even if it was by all appearances, legitimate. I wanted that big money all at once, and without any side deals.

So I played it smart, and plugged in the direct deposit numbers for an online bank account that I'd never before trusted enough to start using. (Obviously, I've got this personal finance thing in the bag.) And decided to ignore the account until my spidey senses told me to take action--a watched pot never boils, as they say.

And then, two days later, there was a stern, "who are you to be ignoring money in the bank?" kind of feeling. I thought it was the ten dollars I'd decided to deposit from my paycheck. (because that's some tough-talking money, obviously.)

But it was actually my whole federal refund. In two days.

I'd like to say it's because of some special relationship that I have with money--and I will say that. Because yes. I do make dollars fly, and currents race with riches. Yes. Yes I do.

But besides that, it's also probably because Chime is advertising getting federal tax returns five days early when they are set up for direct deposit in a Chime checking account.

We cannot quantify how much was Chime's doing, and how much was my own personal, magnificent money magic--but it seems like a worthwhile experiment for anyone. How fast can you make money move in your direction?

Click on this referral link to get $100 if you make a qualifying direct deposit of $200 or more in the first 45 days. You'll even get your paycheck up to two days early, and you can link your existing bank account to transfer funds into. Why not give it a try?

Or maybe you don't need money like I do, maybe you're living on that fancy ramen and paying heating bills with a smile on your face, like that was how you'd always dreamed of using your wealth.

$100. It's not everything, but it's groceries, for you or someone who needs them. The Turbotax link will also give you 20% off filing fees, which will make the wise investment of leaving it to a professional a little more palatable. If you received Covid benefits, this may be especially prudent, as some of those must be paid back--often a tricky thing to navigate by yourself.

Hope these ideas help. And keep it cozy, my friends. Spring is almost here:) May it bring prosperity and bright possibilities for all of us.

Theis

product review
Like

About the Creator

Theis Orion

Muckraker

Dreaming of pretty words, pretty worlds.

Writing of dystopian realities, and all us poor fools, caught in the net.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.