Lifehack logo

Black Skull Bath Bombs

For Halloween or Just a Holo-Witch

By Laura WardPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Throw him in your tub and soak in water as dark as your soul. 

"It's not a phase, mom." Although I grew out of the plaid skin tight pants complete with chains and bullet belt, I've never lost my love for all things black. These skull shaped black bath bombs are fun to make and even better to use. They completely turn your bath water dark as night. I add some cosmetic grade holographic glitter to mine to give them a sparkle that mimics the night sky.

Ingredients:

Dry

  • 30oz Baking Soda
  • 15.5oz Citric Acid
  • 3oz Cornstarch
  • 2.5oz Slsa Powder (optional)
  • 1.5oz Epsom Salt (fine)
  • .5oz Colloidal Oatmeal
  • .5oz Kaolin Clay
  • Approx. 1-1.5 tablespoons of activated charcoal
  • Holographic glitter (seaweed glitter)

Wet

  • 3oz Coconut Oil
  • 1oz Fragrance Oil
  • .80oz Polysorbate 80 (not optional unless you want a stained tub)
  • Rubbing Alcohol in a spray bottle

Utensils

  • Large bowl for dry ingredients
  • Small bowl for wet ingredients
  • Sifter
  • Spoon or spatula
  • Scale
  • Gloves
  • Face mask
  • Measuring spoons
  • Bath Bomb Mold
  • Storage for bath bombs (I use a box lined with paper towels)

In a large bowl, sift together your baking soda, citric acid, cornstarch, oatmeal, salt, and clay. If using Slsa, carefully add it. Make sure you are wearing a face mask and are in a well ventilated area with no fans on. Slsa will irritate you if you breathe it in. It is very fine so it does not need to be sifted. Stir in 1 tablespoon of activated charcoal to start. I always eyeball mine and add more later if needed. If you would like to add glitter to your bombs, you may do so as well. I sprinkle about a 1/4 teaspoon to start. You can always add more later, but taking it out is difficult. Stir together to incorporate.

Melt your coconut oil in the microwave (about 30 seconds or so, do not heat too long) in a separate small bowl. Measure your poly 80 into the same bowl as well as your fragrance oil.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir. If you have a mixer that you would like to use you can do so, keep it on the lowest speed possible. I like to mix with my hands after an initial stir. Spray your mixture with rubbing alcohol, one spritz at a time, working the mixture around so everything is fully incorporated. To check when it is ready to mold, grab a handful of mixture and squeeze it in your hand like you are making a fist. If the mixture stays together without crumbling it is ready; if not, spray with alcohol and mix around until this point is reached.

Don't worry about the smell of the alcohol, it will evaporate out, and the finished product will not smell of it at all.

The amount of bath bombs this recipe yields depends on the size of the mold you use. I can get between 15-18 bath bombs using my skull mold that I purchased off of Etsy. When packing my skull mold, I scoop up the mixture and press down firmly with my thumbs making sure to work the mix into all the small spots of the mold. Continue to pack mixture in until it is full. I will level off the back by rubbing the flat bottom of a glass or cup measure on it. I have two of these molds so I will pack one and let it sit while I pack the other, then I will unmold. I unmold by gently smacking it on the palm of my hand until it breaks free. Then I will lay them in the box to let them harden for 24 hours. As soon as they are hard, you can package them any way you want to. These are great for gifts or just to have for a relaxing and moisturizing bath.

how to

About the Creator

Laura Ward

I am a maker of artisan soaps, bath bombs and anything else you put on your skin. This is a journey for the crafty and colorful! I am working on a degree towards Business Management and I'm trying to stay positive in this world we live in.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Laura WardWritten by Laura Ward

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.