Lifehack logo

A Chilling Encounter

A Chilling Encounter: An Unforgettable Night

By SolPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
A Chilling Encounter

Introduction:

At the age of 17, I experienced a chilling incident on a cold Sunday evening that remains etched in my memory. The story unfolds when I missed my bus home after a gym session, leaving me stranded at an empty bus shelter. Little did I know that this night would take a terrifying turn, introducing me to a man whose presence would send shivers down my spine.

The Wait in the Cold:

During that period of my life, I had a routine of hitting the gym three to four times a week and taking the bus home. On this particular evening, my plans took an unexpected twist. With my parents out for the night and taxi fares beyond my budget, I had no choice but to wait for the next bus in the freezing cold.

As I settled into the desolate bus shelter, snowflakes gently fell around me. Time dragged on as I listened to music on my phone, anxiously awaiting a bus that seemed to be taking longer than usual. The only sound that broke the eerie silence was the occasional gust of wind.

The Unsettling Encounter:

Suddenly, I noticed a figure approaching from the corner of my eye. The stranger was a disconcerting sight, bundled up in layers of clothing, slowly advancing toward me. Fearing that making eye contact might invite unwanted attention, I pretended to be engrossed in my phone.

He took a seat at the far end of the shelter but kept his unwavering gaze on me. Something about him was undeniably unsettling; he appeared to be either intoxicated or under the influence of drugs. Breaking the silence, he asked, "When is the bus due?"

I reluctantly removed my earphones and replied, "I think it's delayed due to the snow." He responded with an uncomfortable, extended stare followed by incoherent mumbling. My unease grew, prompting me to pretend to be absorbed in my phone once again.

The Terrifying Turn:

Minutes felt like hours as I nervously observed his movements. To my horror, I realized he had edged closer to me. I averted my eyes briefly, and in an instant, I heard the sound of him shifting even nearer. Panic surged, and I turned to confront him, asking if he was okay.

He responded with vacant, glassy eyes and made a sudden, alarming move toward me. Fear gripped me, and I instinctively grabbed my bag, bolting as he collapsed to the ground. I sprinted down the road, determined not to look back.

I didn't stop until I reached the next bus stop. There, I finally mustered the courage to glance back, and to my immense relief, he had vanished. I sat down, leaning my head against the shelter's glass, waiting for the bus.

The Nightmare Returns:

Just when I believed the ordeal was over, a series of knocks on the glass shattered my fragile sense of security. I turned, only to find the same man, his eyes fixed on me through the glass. Overwhelmed with exasperation, I demanded, "What the hell is wrong with you?"

He began circling the shelter, closing in with each step. Panic surged, and I shouted at him to stay back. Desperately, I backed away, but my bag remained inside the shelter, rendering me unable to escape. Suddenly, he lunged at me, and I narrowly evaded his grasp.

The Unexpected Outcome:

The man crashed to the ground, his face absorbing the impact. I stood there, frozen in shock, watching blood trickle from his injured face. Desperation prompted me to attempt communication, but he remained unresponsive. I dialed the police and paramedics, who arrived promptly.

As I recounted the night's events, I discovered that the man had been on prescription drugs and had lost custody of his son in a bitter legal battle, causing him to spiral out of control. A photograph of his son in his wallet bore an eerie resemblance to me, shedding light on his unsettling fixation.

Conclusion:

This nightmarish encounter left an enduring mark on my psyche, serving as a stark reminder that life's most horrifying situations can unfold when least expected. Shortly afterward, I obtained my driver's license and have never ridden a bus since. This harrowing experience has taught me to trust my instincts and remain vigilant in even the most seemingly ordinary situations, as the unexpected can swiftly turn a routine evening into a terrifying ordeal.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Sol

I am a writer who is funny, but not funny enough to be a comedian. I am also not smart enough to be a scientist. So, I write articles about things I don't know anything about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.