Lifehack logo

6 tricks to stop overcome thinking and forgetfulness

stop forgetfulness

By skmazeethPublished about a year ago 4 min read
6 tricks to stop overcome thinking and forgetfulness
Photo by Muhmed Alaa El-Bank on Unsplash

I used to have terrible memory recall. I frequently forgot about small things like tasks, appointments, and ideas. And I recall making fun of the fact that I could only recall my birthday and Christmas. I had to put a lot of effort and research into learning how to deal with my amnesia.

I can now conduct talks without notes, save ideas for blog posts, and nearly never forget a task or obligation because my memory has much improved. I've discovered several helpful techniques to prevent forgetting after extensive research and testing.

Here are a handful of the most effective memory-enhancing methods I've discovered:

1) Take in

Fans of Dave Allen will be familiar with this. Avoiding using your brain is the most effective approach to remember stuff. I always have a tiny paper notebook with me where I may jot down obligations, thoughts, and activities to be organised later. The best advice I can probably give to those who are having trouble keeping track of everything is to write things down.

Contrary to what some GTD adherents may claim, I don't believe a capture device is sufficient. Maybe it's just me, but I've seen that there are many of circumstances in which you'll have to think on your feet without a notepad. Bringing a book with you will undoubtedly

2) Link

The connection approach is a memory trick I learnt over a year ago. This is extremely effective whenever you need to memorise a series of details. I've used this method to memorise speeches I've had to deliver and as a fallback if I'm unable to use a notepad for any reason.

Using a mental image to connect two concepts, the link approach functions.After only a minute or two of practise, you may flawlessly store lengthy sequences of information by connecting mental images. For the sake of simplicity, imagine that you needed to memorise the following succinct shopping list:

Toilet paper with baked beans, milk, and squash

Make another link after focusing on that mental image for a few seconds. You would connect milk and squash this time. Imagine a situation where a field of squash vines is growing, but all that is visible are sizable cartons of milk rather than gourds. Something that absurd will make a strong connection.

When you have connected all of the photographs, go back through the list one more time. With practise, you can do this task in 3 to 5 minutes, even for lists including 20 to 30 items. Once you've done this, moving from one link to the next should be simple. The milk/squash image will come to mind when you think of beans.

3) Peg

The link strategy works well for remembering concepts, but what about phone numbers or out of order information?

You don't have to refer to items in order while using the peg technique, which is an improved version of the link technique. With the actual peg technique, you can remember up to hundreds of numbers in order by using a phonetics system for the digits 0–9. Since I'm not interested in these party techniques, I've developed a quicker-to-learn approach that is both simpler and more useful.

4) Remedy

Placing thoughtful triggers at key moments can also aid improve memory. This is helpful to me if I need to recall something in an hour or two but am concerned that I might not check my capture device in time.

I might place a laundry basket close to my door as a reminder to check if I need to add another load of laundry while I'm doing laundry. When you don't want timers to distract you, this is effective. When I leave the gym and need to remember anything, I also employ this technique by placing something on or in my bag.

You can use Post-It notes to help you remember specific events if you have them.

5) Names

The best tip I can give you for remembering names is to utilise them right away. When a stranger introduces themself to you at a gathering, don't just remember their name in your head; really utilise it. Speaking a name out loud makes it much simpler to recall later. To help a name stick, I attempt to use it at least once or twice in the first few minutes after hearing it.

To recall names, I've also found it useful to correlate them with things. If the name is not very uncommon, you probably already know someone with it. Noting in your head that Jonathan, the new person you just met, has essentially the same name as

6) Assisters

Ask a companion to remind you if there is something you need to remember. Can you please remind me to purchase the tickets before we leave the mall, for example? This normally works without depending on the other person. Unless it is something essential to them as well or they have a great memory, the other person usually forgets.

Asking someone to remember something for you, on the other hand, improves your memory, in my experience. If I express the requirement to someone I'm with, I'm three or four times more likely to recall. Something about asking someone to remind you helps you remember things better so you don't appear to be forgetful.

6) Assisters

Ask a companion to remind you if there is something you need to remember. Can you please remind me to purchase the tickets before we leave the mall, for example? This normally works without depending on the other person. Unless it is something essential to them as well or they have a great memory, the other person usually forgets.

Asking someone to remember something for you, on the other hand, improves your memory, in my experience. If I express the requirement to someone I'm with, I'm three or four times more likely to recall. Something about asking someone to remind you helps you remember things better so you don't appear to be forgetful.

how tohealth

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SWritten by skmazeeth

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.