Lifehack logo

5 Ways to Wake Yourself Up Without Caffeine

Feeling drowsy in the middle of the day? Keep reading for tips to wake yourself up sans caffeine.

By KmriePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Source: Andrea Piacquadio via. Pexels.com.

If you’re like me, there are times during the day when you just can’t keep your eyes open. Perhaps you’re at work staring at a computer, a sleep-deprived student trying to get your homework done, or just trying to get through your day. Caffeine is a great stimulant for many people, but it doesn’t work for everyone. Personally, I try to avoid consuming it as much as possible because coffee makes me jittery and too much tea stains my teeth. If you're in the same boat or just looking to reduce your caffeine intake, here are some caffeine alternatives that have helped me wake up during the day that you can try out in your own life.

1. Stay properly hydrated:

According to Healthline.com, dehydration can cause fatigue, even if you are well-rested. Being even a little dehydrated can impact your blood flow and make your body work harder than it needs to. I have implemented drinking water into my morning routine to help myself wake up, and it has been working. Hydrating right when I wake up has helped me get out of my morning stupor and start the day with a clear head. While water isn’t going to make me bounce off of the walls with energy, being properly hydrated at least helps alleviate some unnecessary drowsiness I experience throughout the day.

2. Listen to music:

Nothing pumps me up and stimulates my brain more than listening to an upbeat playlist (which is what I am currently doing while writing this article). If I have to wake up earlier than normal and am still in zombie mode, I pop in my earphones and play something energizing. When I see myself slowing down while getting work done, I open up Spotify. Even a short burst of listening to music can wake up my brain more than a cup of coffee can.

3. Get moving:

Taking a walk during your break or when you are able to could help boost your energy. Salemhealth.org says that even a ten-minute nap can boost your energy for two hours by pumping oxygen throughout your body. Bonus points if you can incorporate movement into your daily routine, like taking the stairs instead of the elevator, doing jumping jacks in the morning, or adding a lunchtime walk. Adding movement to my routine has personally helped me overcome daytime drowsiness.

4. Take a short nap:

If you’re feeling very drowsy, a short nap can help you reset your day if you can take one. Sleepfoundation.org states that the benefits of napping include experiencing less sleepiness, enhanced learning, improved memory formation, and better emotional regulation. The ideal length for a nap is 10-20 minutes. Naps that are too long can actually be detrimental and make you even drowsier. I find that if I am struggling to stay up during the day, a short nap can reset my ability to focus and give me the energy boost that I so desperately need.

5. Eat a healthy snack:

Your diet can affect your energy levels throughout the day. A healthy snack can help sustain you without the crash that drinking caffeine might give you. Healthline.com lists several foods as energy boosters including avocados, watermelon, almonds, kale, and bananas among many others. My personal favorite snacks that give me a boost of energy throughout the day are almonds, bananas, and eggs. These foods help energize me rather than drain me as heavy, salty, and fatty foods can.

These are just a few ways that I personally have found help me energize myself throughout the day without needing to drink a ton of caffeine. On some days, I just need to use one of these methods and on others, I combine a few. Incorporating these into your daily routine can help give you the energy boost you need without reaching for that cup of coffee.

health
Like

About the Creator

Kmrie

I'm a food and travel enthusiast from California who has lived in Spain, Vermont, and Ohio. I consider myself a life-long learner. Current pursuits include improving my Spanish skills, learning Mandarin, and exploring copywriting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.