Journal logo

You Wanna Dance?

What does learning how to dance have to do with being a Real Estate Agent?

By Michael BarnettPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

I grew up in Seattle. I struggled growing up. Awkward, shy, insecure,,,, a little weird. I never really felt like I fit in.

One of my first duty stations in the military was San Angelo, TX,,, West Texas,, real country. When I got there, I don’t why, but I felt home. Back then, Friday and Saturday nights were at the country bar. Texas 2-step, waltz, NO LINE DANCING! Real Country.

You may not know this but there is a pecking order when it comes to 2stepin’ in Texas bars. The women who know how to dance really well, only dance with men, who can dance. And they don’t dare ask, they don’t need to. They only have to look your way.

And I,,,,, just wanted to dance.

So I practiced at home, listened to country music everyday. I even got a truck and started wearing boots and hats. I was ready.

But the part about the pecking order still was an obstacle. How could I show them I could dance if I had noone to dance with from the start? So I figured, this is what all men have to do.

I started on one side of the bar and went through the entire bar asking women to dance. Mere numbers game. I once walked up to five women standing in a circle, I asked one to dance, she said no; asked her friend and her friend and her friend; they all said no thank you..

I got to the last girl, who stood a good four inches taller than me. I stood on my tippy toes, looked her right in the eyes and with all my confidence, and I asked her to dance. They all laughed, the tall girl said yes. And the dance was on.

It took a while to learn. I dedicated many weekends, asked hundreds women to dance, some success, some failures, but I never gave up. There were times, when my buddies’ girlfriends would want to dance, but that always was weird, she already had someone. Asking friends of friends sometimes was uncomfortable as well, as you never know where the night might end, and well,,, friends make complicated casual partners. But, it’s not like I was going to say no.

Anyways, this all reminds me of something I’m learning today.

If you read my posts, you would know, I just recently became a Real Estate agent. The way this works is merely a numbers game. I ask hundreds of people, “are you in the market for a new home?”and if they are,, “will you let me join you in your journey?”

I get a lot of No’s. I’ve had a few yes’s…. And even a friend or two who asked me first.

Its hard getting rejected, again and again.

But if you don’t ask, you are never going to dance.

So my friends, you wanna dance?

If you took the time to read my writing, please like and follow.

This is new for me, but writing just might be a side gig to a side gig.

So follow me, it costs you nothing, it can’t hurt, you might even get a laugh or two. Thank you for taking the time, best of luck.

Please let me know if you would like to dance.

Michael Barnett

NV S.0199556

⁨(702) 344-9293⁩

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.