Journal logo

Years of Loyalty: From Employee to Independent Contractor, Now Unemployed

It had to happen at some point

By Debbie CentenoPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
Image by Igor Omalaev

And so it happened. After 26 years working in the same place, with 17 years as an employee and the last 9 years working as an independent contractor, my services are no longer needed. I knew it was coming. I felt it in my skin every time I stepped foot into the office. It was just a matter of when, so I am not surprised, worried, or sad.

Why did I assume it was bound to happen? Management was changing. Many other changes were taking place. They hired a new boss who was wiping the house clean and making drastic changes, and that’s okay. The company had been stagnant for a very long time and needed a boost, a new beginning. My intuition always told me not to trust him, and I did not. Did he try to sabotage me? Yes, he did, and I fought back. Therefore, we were never on friendly terms. It seemed to get worse every week (I only worked one day a week).

This person was not friendly or polite. His ego was too big to stop and offer me or anyone a ‘Good morning’ greeting. It was always up to us who were there when he arrived to greet him. He never could do any wrong. He was always right in his eyes. And watch your back because whenever my co-workers were not around, he had a feast talking about them and their private lives if they shared anything with him. I did not take part in his gossipy rants. I kept to myself and did not comment on anything he said to those who listened to him. Therefore, I knew he did the same thing to me when I was not around. I was not better than anyone else to have the grace of being spared from his pitiful mouth. Another reason why I knew I was on the chopping block.

What was the excuse for firing me? I made too much money for what my services offered and they were looking to increase services and cut expenses. What? That made little sense. You see, I never requested a set fee or asked for any raises. It was their doing. When I transitioned from employee to independent contractor, they made me an offer, which I accepted. Every year after, they increased my pay. I never had to ask for a raise, therefore I think it is a lame excuse.

Could it have been a conflict of interest on his behalf? There is no doubt about it. I learned his wife does the same type of job I do. I also heard she was on a job hunt since they were new in town. Although that is only hearsay, but, you can not deny it falls under a conflict of interest.

It was a comfortable job while it lasted, and it paid well too. Though I never felt appreciated for my efforts, I did not focus on creating a camaraderie. I just went to work and focused on getting my job done correctly, and that is it. You would think that in 26 years I would have created some bonds with others and I did. But it was with a limited amount of people and they no longer work there. I outlasted most of them.

However, I am ready to move on, therefore; I hold no anger or bitterness. As I told him, nothing lasts forever and everyone must move on at some point. Maybe it needed to happen. I am leaving behind 26 years of not feeling appreciated. Now I feel free. Why did I hold on for so long? I am a masochist; I guess. Oh well, let us move on to new beginnings!

career

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Thank you for sharing your personal story!!!❤️❤️💕

Debbie CentenoWritten by Debbie Centeno

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.