Journal logo

WTF is My Niche?

Story of my life

By Bridget VaughnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have worn quite a few hats in my career life. I have worked as a licensed cosmetologist, an exotic dancer, an administrative assistant, a bartender, a waitress, a paralegal, a yoga teacher, and a writer. I’ve been a serial generalist in all of these areas, so to speak.

The idea of niching down kind of scares me. Like having to fit into a teeny tiny box. It sounds suffocating to me. Even if I found a comfortable little box to niche down into, how long would I want to stay in that tiny box? Wouldn’t I eventually want to stretch out? Or at least switch this tiny box for a new tiny box?

I feel like my mind is big, broad, expansive, curious, full of ideas! Niching down feels like trying to squeeze into a tiny shoe. It seems limiting, uncomfortable, creatively painful. What fun is it to wear a tight shoe?

I have been writing since I was a child. I wrote an 80-page novel when I was in third grade, by hand. All I did was read and write as a kid. In college, I recognized I had a knack for writing; I got good grades, positive feedback, and so forth. As an adult, I wrote poetry once in a while, when inspiration struck. Life slowly steered me back in the direction of doing something I am good at and something I love- writing.

I love to write about the things that stir me; the things that make me tick; the things I care about and hope other people care about. Those topics do not necessarily fall into the same niche group. I write anyway because I am a writer developing her craft. What better way than to practice writing?!

I’m new to the freelancer/blogger game. Therefore, I write on many topics of various niche groups. This opens the opportunity for me to collect data. Then analyze for insight into what niche is working best for me, according to my readers’ responses. I write about yoga, parenting, nature, body image, narcissistic abuse, grieving, health/wellness, laws, poetry, and motivational, inspirational articles. I wish there was one word that could tie in all of these different aspects of my passions. Like my personality is my brand; why can’t it be my niche? And I know the answer to my own question. I’m not famous, so that doesn’t work. Plus, I have an eclectic personality in a world where the nichier you niche down, the better.

I write in my own voice, expressing my own opinions and sharing my thoughts and experiences. For me, that is enough right now. I joined Medium in October 2021. I have published 37 articles thus far. I will be checking my stats and analyzing the data as I go forward, to see where the most value has been received.

I write to put more light out into the world. I write to illuminate the darkness in the human condition with an empathetic optimistic approach. I write words not just from my intellect, but from my heart and soul. I write about the things I am passionate about. Topics that I see as important. Things we should be talking about. Things that make you feel. I want to always leave my readers better than I found them. My goal is to offer light and provide hope. Somewhere, somehow.

I don’t know WTF my niche is yet. Or if I even want a niche. But all the pros out there giving good advice would say to niche. So, niche it is. In a world of so many valuable niches, how does one choose their one and only?

If you have successfully niched down, I’d love to know how you chose your niche and how long it took for the epiphany! Leave some comments, especially if you’re the squirrely creative type like me! I am open to all niche tips, talk, and advice!

career
Like

About the Creator

Bridget Vaughn

Bridget Vaughn is a Freelance Writer and a Yoga Teacher with a passion for creating meaningful heartfelt content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.