Journal logo

Writings on Life and Purpose

my insights

By Caitlin McCollPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Writings on Life and Purpose
Photo by Danica Tanjutco on Unsplash

Since my mom’s death, I guess I’ve been on a journey (without really realizing it), to help me find the purpose of life (or, rather, my purpose in life). So when I found the mindfulness website Elephant Journal and started writing for them in December 2020, it turns out a lot of my pieces revolved around this topic - finding purpose and meaning and connection and how to live life to your best ability and to be your most ‘authentic’ as the kids say these days.

So here’s a whole bunch of articles I’ve written for EJ on that subject (and note: you can only read 2 articles per day for free, without becoming a paid member, but hey, 2 articles a day isn't bad!).

8 Quotes to Feel More Gratitude and Connection in Our Lives - I am a sucker for inspirational quotes. And i’m also a big proponent of Gratitude (something I’ve learned through all the self-help books and stuff I’ve read over the years since my mom’s passing).

Amor Fati- learning to love the good, bad and ugly in life - This article is all about the Stoic (philosophy) principle of Amor Fati which means to love your fate (no matter what).

I’d Rather Be Chasing My Dreams Than Feeling My Nightmares - I used to have almost constant nightmares every night for years. Until, funnily enough, I wrote this article! And then they magically seemed to (mostly) go away. It was very bizarre but very appreciated!

How To Be Like Peter Pan: 7 Ways to Awaken Your Inner Child - some simple tips, and how I really need to connect to my inner child.

Desiderata: A Poem That Reminds Us It’s Still a Beautiful World - This is an analysis of one of my favourite poems.

15 Quotes for When You’re Feeling Disconnected - again, I love quotes and they help pick me up. One of my favourite concepts right now is that of interconnectedness - that we’re all connected.

How Doing Random Acts of Kindness Can Help Us Cultivate Meaning, Purpose and Happiness - This is about how Positive Psychology can help you create purpose.

How The Simplest of Rituals can Bring Meaning and Closure into Our Lives - about the power of rituals and routine in life.

15 James Dean Quotes on Life Purpose To Remind Us Who We Want To Be - I love James Dean. He's my favourite actor (or, I guess, deceased actor), and he was so wise beyond his years.

Childless By Choice and I’m Not a Horrible Person - no explanation needed.

8 Ways to Cultivate Resilience In our Everyday Lives and Why We Need It - Another article that talks about positive psychology and how to increase resilience.

The Actual Purpose of Life (Hint: It Might Not Be What You Think) - This was initially titled There Is Nothing Left to Say, but EJ changed it to something more click-baity. Sigh. This is why I like Vocal - no title changes!

How Our Modern Way of Life Is F*cking Us Up - about how the modern world has changed us .

How To Create Meaningful Routines and Better Boundaries - Taking what I’ve learned from studying cognitive behavioural therapy and making a daily routine.

How To Work Toward Your Ideal Self - Like above, another CBT inspired article.

The Magic of Written Words - some poems on writing.

The Power of Positive Thinking: 7 Reasons Why It’s Great for Our Health - This was an article I’d written for Psych2Go but they thought it wasn't the best fit for them.

The Best Life Advice Ever From Therapists - I queried Elephant Journal readers and others on social media for the best advice they’d ever received from therapists.

Flouncing: Why We Love Drama on Social Media and What to Do Instead - I was curious about the psychology of this so looked into what Flouncing is all about.

8 Things You Can Do To Improve Your Mental Health - a recommendation of a great Psych2Go video.

The Science of Living Your Best Life - This is a great short film (only 8 minutes) that was so inspiring I had to write something about it!

8 Important Things we Should Know about Ourselves - yet another Psych2Go video recommendation because it had great tips.

~~~~

Liked this? then you might like this one!

list
1

About the Creator

Caitlin McColl

I hope you enjoy my writing! Your support means a lot to me!

Find me various places here.

Read:

My Series

My Short Stories

My Novels

My Poetry One & Two

Aeternum Tom Bradbury

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.