Journal logo

Why Mahindra Why

Truth about Mahindra

By piyush gargPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Common man vs Corporate powerhouse. We live in a world where the disparity between different classes becomes evident when common middle class is set against large corporations. It’s an uphill battle and sadly, you find your voice lost in the abyss.

Hi, My Name is Pankaj Manchanda, I want to share my story with my fellow Indians who trust Brand Mahindra. I am sharing this story with you so you can make an informed decision while selecting Mahindra Group to trust with your hard earned money.

In 2015, I booked an apartment in Mahindra Group’s residential project called Luminare. I booked a 4 BHK flat based on Mahindra Group’s reputation. I paid all my installments on time and the project is also getting delivered on time, this year.

In 2017, we were blessed with twins, a boy named Sarvagya and a girl named Lavanya. After their birth, we shifted to M3M Golf Estate in sec 65, Gurugram, which is very near to Mahindra Luminare. We were waiting for our 4BHK flat to get ready so we could move into our own flat instead of living in a rented apartment at M3M Golf Estate.

In February 2019, My daughter was hospitalized at W-Pratiksha Hospital in Gurugram due to respiratory illness caused by Pneumonia. Here is the medical report for her 4-day hospitalization. We installed 4 air-purifiers and kept our windows and doors closed to reduce pollution’s impact on our daughter. In September 2019, my daughter experienced Wheezing Associated Respiratory Illness (WARI). Fortunately, her pediatrician was able to avoid hospitalization and treated her with oral medicines and nebulization. Now it was time for us to make a firm decision for the sake of our daughter’s health. We had heard that a lot of families facing similar situations had shifted to Goa and some other Indian cities. My wife’s hometown Indore had been ranked cleanest city in India for 3 years in a row, so we decided to shift to Indore for our daughter’s sake.

It was hard for me to leave my hometown but in Jan 2020, we hired Agarwal Packers and Movers and shifted to a rented house in Indore. My daughter is doing perfectly well in Indore, Even though it was been hard for me to leave my hometown, we are happy with the decision to bring our daughter away from pollution.

By June 2020, we were clear that we won’t be able to live at Mahindra Luminare until the pollution level in Delhi NCR reduces significantly, therefore I informed Mahindra Luminare about our situation, hoping for them to empathize with our genuine life situation. My expectation and understandings about Mahindra Group were shattered when my plea to the company directors including Mr. Anand Mahindra, Mr. Arun Nanda and Mr. Arvind Subramanian was rejected. Though I had shared the medical reports, our moving bills and Indore’s rent agreement with the directors; they had chosen to ignore a genuine life situation which was beyond my control. The management had decided to deduct 61.6 Lakh rupees from my payment of 1.5 Crore. This is very unfair for a national brand that is trusted by 1.4 billion people.

This year Mahindra Group completed 75 years of business practice and participated in a “GOOD BUSINESS” Study. It saddens me to see that a STUDY published by Mahindra Group rewards itself for its Social and Community impact; however I strongly question this STUDY when Mr. Anand Mahindra upholds his company’s cancellation penalty and disregards the value of human life. The decision to hold cancellation clause higher than client's medical condition has come from none other than Mr. Anand Mahindra’s office. I had insisted on a personal review of submitted documents by Mr. Anand Mahindra himself. I had contacted Mr. Mahindra through Twitter and his office had assured a review. The reputation of Mahindra Group and Anand Mahindra is much bigger than a monetary loss of Rs. 61.6 Lakh. I am saddened to see one of India’s top corporate house ignore corporate social responsibility and give itself GOOD BUSINESS title in a self-promoted study. I wish you good luck Mr. Mahindra, you need it because I am sure that my fellow citizens won’t keep their eyes closed for the next 75 years.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.