Journal logo

Why I Wear Suit and Tie to Sell Kolanut - Hawker in Abuja Explains (Video)

What a guy!

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It is not everyday you get to see people like the subject of today’s article. Zubairu Ibrahim Sulaiman is a 24 year old trader who is making quite the impression on people all over Abuja and the internet because of the way he dresses to hawk kolanuts on the street.

Unlike most hawkers who wear whatever they can find to put on and get to work, Zubairu takes quite some time to prepare his outfits so that he can present himself in a specific way to buyers on the street.

In an interview with BBC, the very optimistic and cheerful trader opened up about WHY he wears a suit to hawk his kolanuts and what he says to people who believe that his dressing is too much for a person selling kolanuts. Are you ready to dive in and see what Zubairu said? Then let’s go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Zubairu

Speaking to BBC, Zubairu said (in pidgin which I’ve translated to plain English for easy reading):

People ask me why do I sell kolanut and wear suit and tie. Like this I am happy, abi am I not happy? I’m happy, because everything is clean. My own kolanut is clean. Me myself am clean. My clothes are clean, I have ironed it. If I have perfume, I’ll put it on.

My name is Zubairu Ibrahim Sulaiman from Kaduna. I’m 24 years. I dress like this and sell kolanut inside traffic on Karu Bridge. I’ve been selling kolanut for 3 years. Every morning, I must swag. I carry my socks, put it on my leg. Carry my shoe, polish it, then put it on my leg. I iron my clothes, shirt, tie, and suit. I wash my hair, I brush it. I carry my face mask, my eye glass. Then I go and sell kolanut.

I respect the suit even though the heat is worrying me or not, I don’t care, I like it. People tell me I dress too much for someone that is going to sell kolanut. I tell them okay, if you don’t like my kolanut selling business, no problem – give me another work that will be better than this one. What I have is good in my hand. If you don’t like my business and say it’s too small for you, then give me something better so I can change the work to something that will give me more money than my kolanut selling.

I have a girlfriend in my village and it’s remaining one year till I’m finally able to marry her. I want to marry her one year from now, that is in 2022. My girlfriend likes this suit too. Me I like it, how will she not like it? If she doesn’t like my dressing then she doesn’t like me. She loves my dressing and she loves me too.

I left my village and came to Abuja. Before I came here, it’s cow work I used to do. I used to follow cows into the bush. I came to Abuja to find money so I can send it back to my father and brother. That way, they can use the money to buy more cows and continue to follow them. I just want to find money in Abuja, then go to school again. If I go to school now, I’ll like to be a banker.

What a character this man is. I really love his positive energy and spirit. Keep rocking your suit Zubairu!

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

apparel
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.