Journal logo

Why I’ll Never Rent From Another Apartment Complex Again

It Just Isn't Worth It

By Olive BarkerPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

I signed a lease for an apartment earlier this year. It’s the second time I’ve ever lived in an apartment building. If I wasn’t in a time crunch, I would have looked for another option.

Preferably, If I’m renting from someone, I would prefer to rent from one landlord and not a property management company. Something like a backyard or above-garage apartment with a nice landlord who doesn’t send me letters about how I walk my dog on the sidewalk. Yeah, I’m not kidding, that’s my current situation.

The complex that I’m currently in feels like a prison to me. There are so many rules about what you can and can’t do, it’s crazy. You can’t have anything on your porch except a table and two chairs. You can’t sit outside with your dog, even if he’s on a leash. And you can’t have a rental car in the parking lot unless it’s approved by management.

I’ve lived in several different states, and I’ve always rented. But only twice have I rented from a property management company and both times, in my personal experience, were terrible. I know that not everyone has this same experience, but for me, it just isn’t worth it anymore.

Freedom, or Lack Thereof

One of the main reasons I will no longer rent from another apartment complex again is the lack of freedom I’ve experienced. I’m not in jail, and I don’t want to feel like I am. I understand rules and regulations, but some of these “rules” are just silly, like the one about not being able to have more than a table and chairs on your porch. The porch that you pay a lot of money to rent.

My Service Dog

I got a service animal shortly after I moved into my current apartment. When I first got him, despite a signed affidavit from my doctor and a call with him, they told me my dog couldn’t be in the apartment unless they approved him.

I know this is illegal, but they still tried to do it anyway. And now that I have him, I have to take him off property to let him go outside and go to the bathroom. So for the amount of money that I’m paying, it just isn’t worth it to have him here.

The Property Management Team

With both apartments that I’ve rented, I’ve experienced this weird tension between the tenants and the property management team. It’s weird when you have someone you don’t know telling you what you can and can’t do in a space you’re renting, which isn’t even theirs in the first place.

The current property management team where I’m located is not the friendliest and for me, I don’t know why I would want to give my money to a person or company who isn’t treating me well. It just doesn’t work for me.

Wasting Money

Renting is a great option for people who can’t afford the alternative. If you can’t buy a house, an RV, or a piece of land, and your only option is to rent, then sure it’s a good option. But If you can afford your own private piece of land, you can do whatever you want on it.

For me, I feel like If I keep renting, I’m throwing money down the drain. Like I’m giving my hard-earned money to someone for free when I could be using that money to build my own house and set my own rules.

Moving On

A few weeks ago, I really wanted to pack all of my belonging and move into my car. That’s how emotionally over living in an apartment complex I was. I know I would be much happier living in my car, where someone can’t tell me what to do all of the time.

But I’m unable to get out of the lease that I signed. So for now, I have to put my big girl pants on and accept that this is going to be my reality for the next few months. Once my lease is up, I will never rent from another apartment complex again, I have learned my lesson. I will be living on my own land and building my own house.

Have you lived in a bad apartment complex? If so, what was your experience like?

advice
Like

About the Creator

Olive Barker

Investigating True Crime & Uncovering Scams One Case at a Time 👉🏽https://linktr.ee/olivebarker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.