Journal logo

Why Haven't I Been Writing?

My story of bipolar and writer's block

By Rene PetersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Why Haven't I Been Writing?
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Why haven't I written anything here in over a month?

The simple answer: writer's block has been terrible for me.

The complex answer: my life has felt like a living hell lately. I have been everywhere mentally. I have been hypomanic two times and depressed the rest of the time. Most nights, I have been lying in bed crying for nothing, struggling to not self-harm, as I have become addicted to it over the last nine or so years. When I have energy, I don't want to write. When I want to write, I don't have any energy to do so. I have still done some journaling for myself, personally. It helps my anxiety and sometimes my depression just to get my feelings off my chest.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What has been going on in the last month?

I had my break from school and work, since I work at a local college. I have, like I said, been depressed and hypomanic. Hypomania sounds good from the outside looking in, and sometimes during it, but I did some kind of dangerous (but not illegal) stuff. Looking back, I regret it all though.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What's coming up and just starting in life?

Well, I am working part time, writing occasionally, and doing school part time. However, I want to write so much more than I have been. (Sorry to everyone who has missed my writing, poetry in particular.)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What am I studying?

I am going for a medical office assistant certification. I know you may be asking what that is. It is basically a receptionist in a doctor's office or hospital setting.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What do I do for work?

I don't really have a job title, but I basically prepare sandwiches, salads, and other pre-made food for the students at the local college, which I am uncomfortable naming, for now anyways.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Though it is not required, tips and/or pledges are much appreciated, as college is expensive, and I do not earn a lot at my job. This is not meant to be a sob story, just me being honest about my struggling lately. Thank you all for reading.

interview
2

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.