Journal logo

Washington D.C. 2018

My Experience in the Capitol - Talking to People from the Government

By Rene PetersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

It started after I found an organization that helps people with many types of disorders, including epilepsy, which I have. I started volunteering there at the age of 16, sorting papers in the office. I didn't know that such an amazing opportunity would become a possibility, and eventually my reality.

In November 2017, I got the news that I was nominated, and chosen, for an event called Teens Speak Up. This meant I would be an advocate for people with epilepsy, specifically in my state. There were two other girls around my age who were also chosen. I was nominated the year before but not chosen by the event staff.

Side note: I think I was picked because I did a lot of advocacies in my high school my senior year, with the help of one freshman, one teacher, and the principal. We sold bracelets and did one epilepsy fact, which I provided, over the announcements a day for the month of November. All the proceeds from the bracelets went to a local organization. I never thought I would be a good advocate but it was the most comforting thing I had ever done. I felt like myself, happy and even a little proud.

Before I knew it, it was time to travel to Washington D.C., in April 2018. It was the main thing I was looking forward to since I found out about it. I knew what I was getting into by accepting it, talking to senators and representatives.

The day we got there was a more relaxing, getting to know each other, type of thing. The people running this event were spending the next two days teaching us how to talk with confidence to the government professionals. I didn't know, even though I was 17, that I already knew how to do most of the tasks and tips they were teaching us. A lot of what they taught us had to do with body language. I remember them telling us that, "If you look confident, you will sound more confident." I was told that before, from my music teachers, but I never believed them. When I first tried it, I felt different, almost like I belonged in my body. It was an experience that I hope I never forget.

The final day, which was a Tuesday, we talked to government officials in the morning. Talking to them, asking them questions, and answering their questions was the most confident and put together I have ever felt. I wasn't in the mindset of feeling as though everyone was judging me. For the first time ever, I felt how I looked, beautiful and confident.

me and my mom

I wore the purple shall because purple is the color for epilepsy. Even my mom was being supportive of the cause, wearing purple to show how much she cares about me.

Those two pictures are all three of us teenage New Yorkers waiting to talk to the senator and representative. We all got to share our stories and our struggles due to dealing with epilepsy.

Yes, it is hard to live with epilepsy, but it has made me the person I am today. I know I have imperfections but living with this awful disorder has made me the best version of me; a compassionate, caring, willing to learn, individual.

To everyone who read it all, thank you. I hope it was able to give you some insight to how living with epilepsy can be a good thing, despite it being a terrible condition. Hopefully a cure comes along soon. Far too many people are battling this disorder for way too long.

advice
1

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.