Journal logo

Why Comments Are Important

and the best way to do it

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Top Story - June 2022
20
photo by Gustavo Fring on Pexels

Imagine you’re going out somewhere like a bar or nice restaurant with your friends, and you’re wearing an outfit you weren’t quite sure about when you tried it on in the dressing room. Maybe you’re not used to wearing pastels, or it hugs your body a way in which you’re not accustomed.

Still, you bought it. You’re going out on a limb and taking a chance to wear it in public. You want to experiment. What you’re probably hoping for is that at least someone will look at your new threads and say, “Hey, I like this.” But one of the worst things that could happen is that they say nothing and just kind of … stare.

Writers, especially new writers, have to try on a lot of different outfits when publishing their work. In the age of experimentation, desperate to hook the reader’s attention, it can be difficult to know what’s actually working and what isn’t.

Given, there are undetermined factors, fluke incidents that can bring engagement to life overnight. For the most part, writers have to stay in tune to what their readers are actually consuming and why. This is, you guessed it, the part where we’re hoping for someone to say, “Hey, I like this,” or at least something to show us we’re heading on the right path.

Vocal just recently gave the option, platform wide, to allow comments on published stories. This has been, from my experience, one of the most enlightening tools. Of course, a writer can try to determine engagement based on a story’s statistics, but that doesn’t always illustrate why people are or aren’t reading a story.

So, if you’re ever browsing on Vocal (or any other platform for that matter) and you stop on a story long enough to feel engaged, it can benefit the writer and the reader, a.k.a you, by leaving a comment about what’s working well in the story, what you really liked. Why? The writer will get some constructive feedback so that they won’t have to keep poking around in the dark, and you will most likely get to see more of what you liked in their future writing. Win-win.

Notice I said, “constructive feedback”? Let’s think back to the analogy of the new outfit. What do you think is worse than people saying nothing and staring? That’s right, someone saying something like, “Eww, that’s so ugly.” Mostly, what that’s doing is tearing down instead of building up. One of the best ways to support a writer is to build them up, express what you enjoy about their work, and give them motivation to keep writing.

“Wait,” you may think. “It’s not always so cut and dry.” And you would be right. I grew, sometimes uncomfortably, familiar with the dicey, cut-throat literary critique in my college writing workshops and beta reading groups. You may have the best intentions but don’t want to lie if you didn’t enjoy a piece of writing, or it may seem like honesty can be the best way to encourage a creative’s growth, but how can you be honest without completely ruining someone’s passion?

Firstly, it’s helpful to understand that when you’re engaging with stories on a platform like this, you are not being invited to brutally critique the writer’s work. This is not a workshop. The writer is not volunteering Katniss Everdeen style to be metaphorically torn apart.

Most likely, they are sharing their work so readers can find entertainment or inspiration. Some readers may not like their story based on a personal preference, and that comes with the territory. It’s just like when you wear that new outfit in public, although a stranger may pass by and decide they wouldn’t wear it themselves, you’re not asking them to debate your style.

Keeping that in mind, what is the best way to express in the comments whether you did or didn’t like someone’s work? Let’s start with the latter. So, you took the time to read a story, and unfortunately by the end, you weren’t satisfied for some reason or another, maybe it didn’t quite click with you. What should you say in the comments to express your distaste? Nothing. If you honestly didn’t find anything you liked in the story, the best thing to do is leave the comments and move on, find a story that you enjoy.

I’m not saying there isn’t a time or place to discuss what can be improved within a piece, but the comments of a writer’s story, almost always, isn’t the best place for that. Trust me when I say that the majority of writers who are publishing, even on platforms like Vocal, are probably working actively with some sort of editor, beta reader, or group of fellow writers to receive critique … in private. There’s a metaphorical Wizard of Oz curtain separating their effort of improving their writing in the backend and what they actually release to the public.

“Wait,” you may say. “My opinion matters, and I should be able to discuss why I didn’t like something.” My friend, you would be right. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and should be able to express it. The best way to critique someone’s work could be in a private group of other readers who like to discuss literature, or perhaps you could write a thoughtful analysis of their writing and publish it independent from the original piece. The importance is that it’s separate and not literally attached to the critiqued story.

Why? Think about a time when you were learning a new skill, maybe while playing a sport or doing something creative. Now, think back to all those little mistakes you made when you were just starting out. What if you had to wear a badge describing each mistake, and every badge was written by different people with varied opinions and tastes? Wouldn’t that be humiliating? In addition, it would be even more difficult to prove that you have talent, that you’re worth the time.

The best way to use this platform and the ability to connect with readers and writers alike is to build each other up, express why their work was worth the time, and accept that you may come across stories you don’t like.

So, let’s say you discovered a buried gem of a story that changed your life, or maybe it was just interesting enough to keep you hooked. What’s the best way to express that you enjoyed the story in the comments? Of course, writers will always appreciate a quick, “Hey, I like this.”

However, the most helpful feedback is specific. What did you like about the story? What moved you? Even if you quote a single line that resonated within you, that gives the writer some sort of idea of what’s working well.

Alternatively, if you had mixed feelings, maybe there were things you found fascinating but also parts that could be boring, it’s still helpful to explain what you admired. When given some sort of direction, a writer will almost always gravitate to writing more about what the readers seemed to enjoy.

Since comments have been active on Vocal, I have been scrolling through and reading the responses from readers on my own stories, and honestly, that was the motivation I needed to keep writing some days. Not all writers are the same. Some may choose not to accept comments, and some may never read them for whatever reason. But for many of us, it makes a huge difference.

Now, what if you’re a writer and you’ve started to get comments from readers on your stories, but you’re not sure how to respond? Try to match their effort. If a lovely reader has taken the time to follow you and write a detailed response about what intrigued them in your story, give them a follow back. Perhaps step from behind the curtain for a bit and discuss more about your story with them. Have they published any of their own work? Maybe take the time to read some of their writing and leave a comment.

The best way for growth in our community is to build each other up, express what we love, and, you guessed it, be vocal.

product review
20

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Alice B. Schellinger. 2 years ago

    I read this through, and I couldn’t agree more! I love how meticulously you broke down every point and discussed it bit by bit, and even discussed the common thought processes that can come up when it comes to leaving comments on work. As a writer who was given some brutal critiques in college, I didn’t let it stop me, and I started to flip the script and write what made me happy, knowing that, even if I could improve my writing, I’d find my niche audience by simply writing, publishing, and letting go of the fear. And, when I do get comments, positive or negative, I always try to find the good points in all of them without getting into my own head and tearing myself down.

  • Relate talking about commenting, it is one of the reason we pursue on something, and if we just understand commenting in a positive manner, then it should be appreciated. It is improving us more making our work better. I'm new at vocal and I am kind of nervous if I may not receive comment since I am not a writer or story teller but I just want to share mine. anyway love your writing. Keep it up.

  • I read this with great interest. I just published my first story after being away from the Vocal platform for about a year. I began reading, commenting, and subscribing to creators whose work I enjoy. As obvious as the boundaries you laid out may seem, I am happy you took the time to articulate them. I have brain fog for various reasons, and may have found myself overstepping or committing one of these egregious mistakes. In fact, I do need to go back and edit a comment, as I pointed out that one author may have used a wrong word in his article. In the moment I felt I was being helpful, but I see now I was not. Thank you!

  • Lisa Sicard2 years ago

    Hi Eliza, love this and love seeing comments here as I just joined. It seems many are commenting on main blogs as much as they used to. It's becoming a lost art. Thanks for the revival. Sometimes, when someone does leave a comment it inspires me to write more.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kevin Smith2 years ago

    Writing is the ultimate solitary pursuit, after all there's only room for you in your own head. But leaving comments helps remind you that you're part of an entire world community of solitary pursuers.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Folks are always welcome to head to Vocal Social Society or Great Incantations on FB to mix and mingle! I agree. I think comments on Vocal are one of the best things we've seen so far (next to quick-edit ;P )

  • Thanks for this article! I want comments and don’t want to just be asking for praise, but yeah, affirmation could be helpful 😂. This has helped me think about why I should/how I can leave a helpful comment on other people’s works.

  • Timothy E Jones2 years ago

    I've been writing on my own for years didn't know if I was doing the right thing or not I came across Vocal as a place to rent my stuff and I long for comments on my stories especially the ones that I feel like part of a little extra time in selected yes two part TITANIC story ends the two-part multi-part dragon story "dragon on the valley with certainly at least a four-part story" and comments on them would be much appreciated sure they're erotic in nature but that's just my writing style it might not be for everybody any must be 18 year old and in order to read them but in my own opinion I think they're good stuff . But I am curious to see what other people think about my writing before I go any further

  • Sana M2 years ago

    I enjoy leaving behind comments, even if they're short. Today I wasn't on any active lookout for articles but this one caught my attention. Enjoyed reading it

  • R. K. Osborn2 years ago

    Well-thought out and presented, thank you for clearly laying out the importance of lifting each other up. Keep it up!

  • The entire article was helpful for this newbie. Thank you for the guidance.

  • Excellent, I loved the subject. I identified a lot. Keep writing....

  • Nour Boustani2 years ago

    "Some readers may not like their story based on a personal preference, and that comes with the territory." Perfect line. Thanks for sharing.

  • I agree with this article, writers need to help each other out more.

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I love your writing, Sam. You’re so articulate and clever. Always relatable and real. Amazing stuff as always

  • R. E. Perry2 years ago

    A very helpful article. I've been wondering how to comment in a way that is helpful to the writer, and the specific suggestions were just what I needed. I also really enjoyed your analogy about a new outfit. Great stuff!

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I enjoy leaving comments on articles here. It's a nice way of engaging with other readers and writers. I always try to leave positive feedback. If I don't have much to say, I will heart a story and leave at least insight. Sometimes, I will leave all three. Your article is very relatable to me.

  • Very insightful article, it works like magic.

  • Corinne Jenkins2 years ago

    This is awesome!

  • Hey, I like this. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.