Journal logo

Why Can't I Write?

Writer's block or fear

By L.APublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Adventure. Places that feed your mind. 

Now, we've all been there. We've all had great ideas in the beginning but once your hand touches that paper, your mind goes blank. I have been struggling with this for a while now and I really had no idea as to why.

All my life I had a passion for writing. No, I didn't know at the start that I wanted to be a writer. But when I did, that is all I wanted to do. I had all these amazing ideas, images in my head that I can see so clearly. School assignments involving stories or poems or drawings, I would ace them. I had no problem creating what I did and handing it in and presenting it to the class. But now, I am currently out of school for a bit. And I finally found a place to express myself. Not just in a classroom.

But what is holding me back?? What is holding you back??

You can see yourself creating all these amazing stories, articles, poems etc... You have them written down in a book that always sits in the corner of your room. You hear it speak to you to put yourself out there. But instead of letting the world see your work. You hide it in a book, a book no one will ever see, ever read, ever feel.

It's time to ask yourself...

"Is this what you really want?"

"Do you want to hide forever? Or make a name for yourself?"

I am at an age in my life where I should be partying, living my life to the fullest. But in all honesty, all I want to do is write. Yes, I go out here and there. But writing is always on my mind. I'd see things when I go out and the first thing I think of is "This would make an awesome story." I'd go home, create the characters and go off on my paper. But when I try to post it, I can't... I couldn't.

Days turned to weeks and weeks to months. I thought to myself why I never had the courage to post any of my stuff up. And it hit. As I am writing this, it hit me. It's not writer's block, it's not because I don't have anything to write about. I have a million things to say. But it is because I am afraid. Afraid of all the negative responses I will get, afraid of the criticism, afraid of failure. Yes, absolutely yes! Every writer goes through this. Do not feel like you're alone or not a talented enough writer to make it. Just do it. Seriously LOL.

You will have self-doubt, knowing me I have a s**t ton of it. I've convinced myself at times to not write anything when my mind is crazy with ideas, I've told myself that I am not good enough. You will too. But all of this, everything you are telling yourself is because of fear. You will want to back out, delete your account. And anything that will erase your name from the internet. But if you really want to pursue your dream as a writer or really anything. You will have to push yourself. It's time to tell yourself "F*** THIS" and go do what you enjoy the most.

Someone told me "No matter what you write, someone out there will love it."

Keep that in your mind, always. Write your heart out for that one person who loves your stories. If your creations can bring happiness and or joy to one person in this world, you've done an amazing job already.

Your mind is your superpower.

advicecareer
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.