Journal logo

What Supporting Small Business Means to Me

And why you should!

By Rugergirl22Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
What Supporting Small Business Means to Me
Photo by Lukas Blazek on Unsplash

In the land of technology and social media we live in, we all have friends that run small businesses. Some of them are contractors or handymen. Some of them run with the MLM businesses and do well. Others post their crafts and try to make a little side income doing something they love. Heck some of us write articles and stories we are convinced will never be read, but we write them anyway.

I have dabbled in owning a salon business doing hair for 8 years. I have worked with a couple of MLM businesses, with varying levels of success. And recently I've taken up writing for Vocal and Medium. I'm sure friends and family have gotten tired of my links to promote or my groups to show my products. But there are a loyal few that support me, no matter the undertaking.

Thank you! It means the world.

In my world, I'm a second-year nursing student trying to scrape by on a minimal income to finish the program. Nursing school is not for the faint of heart. Even as I write this I should be studying for a test, preparing for weekend clinicals, and doing my pre-sim work. Writing has become my outlet for anxiety and frustration. It keeps me in the "work" mode even when I am not being productive directly in my schoolwork. It's also a chance to make a tank of gas, or extra cash to eat out after a 12 hour clinical. All of it helps add up to stressing a little less about how the bills are getting paid. It may seem small, but seeing a tip come through can be a blessing when I need it the most. THANK YOU!

I work with my best friend in a retail business that helps with these goals as well. She has supported me and helped me launch and I am ever so thankful. I'd been using the eye cream from her for years and transitioning into owning my own slice of retail has been a blessing for trying to get through school. Even though it is another responsibility on what feels like a full plate, it's also a blessing. For every customer I've had I am grateful. When I walk and receive my RN I will have every one of you to thank!

So, what does small business mean to me? It means I have a chance at building a better life. Turning 30 this year has been… well awful. Feeling like a failure because I'm still in school. Feeling like I will never get through the program because the world has gone nuts. Feeling like I wasted the last ten years of my life and I'm still no closer to being an "adult." But having small business avenues and feeling supported each time I see a piece was read or a product is purchased gives me hope. Hope that I'm not in this alone. Support from knowing other people do want to see me succeed.

Supporting small businesses isn't lining a CEO's pockets. It's giving a lost girl a chance at a better life. The next time you see a friend with a side hustle, try not to judge them. Instead, peek at what they're offering. You never know when the smallest purchase might keep their dream alive. In this crazy world of covid-times we are all just trying to keep that spark alive.

---

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this! If you would like to see more stories, please check out my vocal page HERE

If you were peaked by my retail business, please check out MyShop HERE I'd love to share amazing products with you.

If you are interested in writing your own vocal stories, click HERE and get ready to start your own journey!

By Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

Published first on Medium HERE

business
3

About the Creator

Rugergirl22

Just a small-time writer excited to get some of my work out there. I have had a myriad of jobs and enjoy bringing experience and imagination while building small worlds with vivid imagery to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.