Journal logo

What it feels like after quitting my job

I took a risk during the worst times in history to leave my workplace, but I'm glad.

By AllshewriitesaboutPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It felt like the biggest sigh of relief that I was out of there. My mind was going crazy to even stay there for my last two weeks. I didn't even bother looking at my emails on my last day, but I made it through. I left after working for a company for four years. That took a lot of my years away from the more creative side of myself and into this independent person working a 9 to 5 job. I devoted my life to a working woman who just wanted to work for the rest of my life. It was almost as if I was going to die into that company.

I'm very grateful to have learned so many skills and actually have great qualities under my belt and developed my knowledge more than I can imagine. As you can tell, I'm not very confident in myself some days because I had it too many times where someone will undercut my work before. Even though I could care less about the judgment I would still take in constructive criticism. I still take it to heart to help myself understand how I can also do things better and change.

From my personal experience after quitting my job I went through (still am) a really difficult path to find anything motivating myself, I am here to share what my mind was like for the first three weeks of being jobless.

Week One

As I remember it, when the clock hit 6 PM PDT on my last day, I was excited, sad, and relieved. I was full of mixed emotions. I couldn't really tell if I was actually happy that I wasn't tied down to anyone or anything. I knew that day the only thing that would make me happy is being with my boyfriend. I remember I also felt more motivated to write a blog about why I am going through this and how I can actually help people through this pandemic, but even for myself I couldn't even put a smile on my face. That first week was a sigh of relief, my mind was in the clear. I knew I didn't have to wake up on Monday dealing with people's tantrums and I was happy to not be there at all. My happiness fell quickly though, the emotional stress I have endured led me to not being able to get out of bed.

Week Two

I was falling into depression, I was going into this graveyard I buried in my teen years where I wasn't confident, I wasn't good enough as an individual and where I would only think the worst. I was crying in my bed for half of the first week and throughout the second week wondering why it's so hard to live in this world and why it felt so hard for me to have the things that I wanted sometimes. I've been independent and determined and life never really came easy to me. I had to fight hard for what I wanted and then just make it sound so easy to show that it's no problem because I can do this. My emotional strength affected my life.

Week Three & Four

I'm still in bed, my laundry hasn't been done, my dishes weren't really washed and I barely ate. At one point, I was starving myself to death because I thought it was an easy way out. I hated that mindset, it's still taking me a while to change my habits into a more positive note. My third week felt like a burden to go to the washroom, to go shower, and to get out of the house for air. I was trapped in this nimbus cloud and people are asking me back and forth, "What are you going to do next? Did you find another job? How are you going to basically figure this out?"

I kept my answers simple, I'm going to take my time off and collect myself.

Fast forward, I've gotten up and out of bed because sulking isn't going to do anything. I've been going to the gym to work on my physical health, I've been reading a book and learning new things online. I've been trying new things like writing a blog, creating a new Instagram for myself. Yes, I am still healing and only time will tell how I'm going to approach the next steps.

Thanks for listening! If you like my short blogs, comment and tip through vocal media :)

You can also follow my IG https://www.instagram.com/xomiichellef/?hl=en

career
1

About the Creator

Allshewriitesabout

N O N A M E

Creator | Lover | Explorer

You don’t have to give up, you just have to put yourself first

New journey as a beginner writer

Follow & Support

linktree

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.