Journal logo

What I Wish Readers Knew About Vocal

It's a Platform, it's NOT Infallible!

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 4 min read
16
https://pixabay.com/users/bookbabe-551008/

Weekends bring their own disruption to our lives. Some people drink more than they should. Some stay up too late. Others impudently fall off their diet regimen. Some hook up with strangers...

And some push the limits of social media and writing platforms like Vocal.

This weekend was no different.

It brought the usual posts on Vocal that raise the blood pressure of dedicated Vocal creators and call the good processes in Vocal to question. And I totally understand!

For Example

This morning I awoke and checked the Top Stories, so that I could share any new ones (OK. OK. And also to check if any of mine have been so recognized, too!) on my Facebook Group's page (See link below). As the owner and Admin of the page I excitedly share as often as I can when one of the 3,000 members gets a #TopStory. Pretty sure I miss some, but I try to stay current. After all- even the name tells you we are about Support!

I did find one by Mike Singleton-Mikeydred, and was happy to post it, especially as the subject of the poem is so important to me and to our group. Too many of the creators, writers, and authors are in the midst of personal difficulties, some have had to stop writing as they regroup, tend to family, recover from tragedy.

I was delighted to see that the formerly-designated 'Top Story' that was plagiarized from a Ted Talk was no longer shown. (Success!) I had reported it to Vocal over the weekend and it was removed from the Top Story page.

I found out how to do that by reading the Vocal Community Guidelines:

Unfortunately, the author is still shown on the site, and the 'top story' is still posted on Vocal's Facebook page. I had suggested that someone that plagiarizes should NOT be allowed to benefit from Vocal, and should NOT be elevated on Vocal social media. Oh well- maybe they are combing through the other 49 posts that the person has posted before taking that action? (And, no- I am NOT going to call out the author. I WILL provide you a link to the most excellent TedEd talk from which the article was lifted, almost word for word. It's really most extraordinary and a fascinating subject. Once you watch the original you will understand why the copy was chosen for recognition.)

Next- I checked out the BEAT, the Community for Music artists, reviews, and playlists. I wasn't overly surprised to see that the spambots had been at work overnight. Yup- there were two stories that had posted, both written in a non-translated language other than English. This is a violation of Vocal Community Standards. Both seemed to be for some diet/health product.

Did I report it? No. My supposition is, since these were both new 'accounts' and these non-English 'articles' were their only posts, that the Vocal content mods would find them. And that is what must have happened, as they are now gone.

I DO see a new post within the past hour in Lifehack, which is a spammer's favorite as far as I can tell; it's written totally in French. There is another one, also in French, posted within the past 20 hours. It's a shame, because Lifehack is a great Community, and a cool way to dip into all kinds of interesting topics... when you dodge the spam. My guess is that the Content Mods will find and delete it eventually.

So What Does This Mean?

For one thing, it doesn't mean that I am the Vocal police. (Mama has her own job and it takes a lot of her time. I also write for the Medium platform, run a Medium Publication, and am admin for 9 Facebook groups. If Vocal wants me to be their security guard for pay, though, we can talk...)

It just means that, as irritating as it is to see obvious spam (ahem- The Hero's Journey), outright lies (The likely AI-generated article on increasing sperm count that states using a condom is a guaranteed way to make you pregnant, and yes I reported THAT 'top story') make Top Story, it happens.

Vocal implemented quicker-to-post processes a few months ago, and like any other good thing some people take advantage of it. Since I am not a tech guru I don't know what tools are available to assist in weeding out the baddies. maybe a language recognition-bot to eliminate those not written in English (just keep the UK and Canada folks' posts, OK?).

Or maybe we can all report the stories when we see them?

Now- should we have to do this? No. But we are a community, aren't we? Even if you aren't part of the (all too many) Facebook groups for Vocal/Medium writers to which I belong, we are all a community of readers.

We watch out for each other.

And maybe, if enough of us report the bad stuff, they will have the oooomph to prove that such tools are needed!

THAT's what I wish all readers knew about Vocal.

To Recap:

  1. Report spammy posts.
  2. Report spammy comments.
  3. Leave 'hearts' and 'comments' on posts you enjoy. This one, for instance!
  4. Subscribe to the writers that write the stuff you like.
  5. Leave a Tip for an article that you enjoyed and/or opened your eyes to something new.
  6. Share the stuff you like on your own social media and you will delight a writer for days!

------------------------------------

Please check out my other Vocal posts and come and follow me on Medium!

advice
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    You are policing for real. I get exhausted just reading and writing. Glad to have the heads up on all this craziness.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Well written. It’s a shame about the plagiarism. πŸ™„

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Well stated Judey! Thank you for writing and for reporting. We are a community.

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    Awesome. I hadn’t seen the Ted Talk story. Vocals not been what it could be forever. I finally killed my plus subscription. Nothing to be gained by having one. You do a good job with your groups Judey. Keep it up.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Excellent work Judey and great pointing out how people violate, and of course thank you for the shout out, that is most appreciated

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome, as always!!! Your summary nailed it!!!πŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜Š

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Nicely said, Judey! We can all easily do the points you mentioned at the end. Loved this :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    excellent article. You're right, they're not infallible.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.