Journal logo

What Are Low-Content Books?

What do we mean by low-content publishing, and can anybody do it?

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

I came across several videos on Youtube and TikTok showing how to make money using a combination of Canva and Amazon's KDP service. Since Amazon took over from Createspace, it has been easy to create paperback books using KDP. Well before that, Lulu Press has been printing paperbacks from Indie authors for many years now. There's a lot of options now, but the Canva and KDP combination seems to be the easiest and free one to do. Canva now has an option where you can import PDF files so you can import template files from Amazon and edit everything straight there.

After watching these videos I decided to test the methods myself. I was impressed with how they've turned out. So far I've done a few notebooks and was satisfied with how they turned out. Canva does have a premium service that gives more features and stock, but at the moment I only use the free one. I think the free version of Canva gives me everything that I need. This method has been a popular way to create a passive income. Some people have earned up to 8000 dollars a month creating low content books on KDP.

The first thing we have to know is what do we mean by low content. By low-content, we mean books that don't have a lot of writing. This also means that the KDP market is situated these kinds of products, but with a little bit of research and a big push on advertising, you might be able to create books that can make a lot of money. Because these books get used and filled in, there will always be a demand for them. The first thing that comes to mind are notebooks. KDP does not accept blank pages, but there are ways about it. You can make lines for lined journals or make borders for the pages.

Amazon is saturated with notebooks, but if people are making them, there are people clearly buying them. One of my favourite shops is Paperchase because I love the beautiful notebooks and pens. In fact, a lot of their products inspired me to make some of the notebooks on Canva. As a writer, I fill in my notebooks a lot so they're always handy to have.

Other examples of low-content books include:

  • Journals
  • Guestbooks
  • Shopping Lists
  • Puzzle books
  • Colouring books
  • Graph books
  • Sketchbooks
  • Word games

Here’s some that I’ve done!

This book was designed for fan fiction readers to log in what fics they’ve read. I only saw one of these on Amazon, so I thought I would make one myself. I might try and make some with alternate covers.

This is one of my notebooks. I quite like how it turned out. The graphics were supplied by Canva, but the background is a photo of a bath colored by a Lush bath bomb.

The photo of the pool is a picture I took in a hotel in the Philippines. Adding the personal touch really helps the progress more enjoyable.

This one came out really well. I think the glossy cover works for this as it brings the stars out to life.

This one is one I’ve had a lot of interest in. One of my friends, who is training to be a nurse has one from me.

Whilst it has taken me away from my book projects, it’s been a great stress relief and getting away from the platform for a few days has helped with my mental health.

art
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.