Journal logo

Vocal - What The Hell?

An Objective Look at Vocal Challenges

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 4 min read
15
Image taken from Unsplash, altered in NightCafe

Vocal, Vocal, Vocal…what the hell is going on?

Not in general. I don’t mean that question as a friendly greeting.

I mean that in a "What the hell is going on?" way.

Seriously, though, I want to discuss something that's been on my mind for quite a few months now. Vocal Challenges. Namely, the issues, as I see them with Vocal Challenges.

Why I Love Vocal Challenges

I want to start by saying that there are several things I like about the challenges.

They are a great way to get the frontal cortex working, because despite seeming like a bottomless fountain of great, bad, terrible and insane ideas – even I like a decent writing prompt every now and again.

The deadline means that my tendency to procrastinate needs to be reined in a little.

From a reader’s point of view, it’s endlessly fascinating seeing how different people take on the prompts and challenges. It pushes me to think even more inventively for future pieces.

There is a genuine bit of excitement – like stupid kiddish nervousness on the day when the winners are announced! The old “might be me this time…might be someone I know!”

So, yes. I do love the challenges for those reasons.

Why I Don’t Live Vocal Challenges (Or at least the way they are run)

Unfortunately, there are also a number of reasons why I feel the challenges are not as successful or as enjoyable an experience for all that get involved.

While the uncapped entry amount is a nice touch and fosters greater creativity among Vocal creators, it also makes it harder to believe/trust that all the entries are actually read.

It also leads to the possibility, rightly or wrongly, that people could rank more than once in the final results.

There is no cap on how many consecutive wins any one person can have, which means that the same people could win again and again.

Let me be clear, this is not an attack on anyone who has benefitted in any way shape or form from the current rules, but, I know there are a lot of people who find it very disheartening when they put their all into creating pieces for the challenges and don’t even get an honourable mention.

I do understand that it is not an easy task to undertake, given how many people are members of Vocal and how many entries are put forward for each and every challenge. It’s not like these are the first ever writing competitions in the history of the internet or the world. There are plenty of other competitions and challenges out there that run smoother or fairer.

I also want to be clear that this is not sour grapes. I have put forward work I am proud of towards these challenges and not won, so far. It is definitely a bit flattening. Of course, it is. However, my issues with the challenges and how they are currently run are not just because I haven’t won yet. It’s because many of the people I know, all fabby creators, have yet to finish either as a runner-up or in second place or first place in a challenge.

What Would I Do?

I have thought about this a lot. I appreciate that most people don’t care what that weird Scot thinks about how to run challenges on Vocal a bit fairer, I’m going to share my thoughts anyway. Seems fair as I pointed out the issues I see with challenges.

    1. I would start by capping the entries per person to just one. I know that sounds harsh, but it would make it easier for the judges to read through all the entries and would push creators to put their best foot forward, so to speak.
    2. I also would consider capping the number of consecutive wins an individual creator can have. So, if someone wins the first or second prize in a fiction challenge, they are not eligible for the next one. Similarly, if they finish first or second in a poetry challenge, they are not eligible for the next one. Again, I know this seems strict, but sometimes having rules in place can be a good thing. It would also mean that the love and appreciation for the wonderful creators we have on this platform could be spread a bit further.
    3. Finally, I would also consider having it so that, somehow, entries are anonymous, or at least to the judges.

    I am quite prepared for people to pick holes in my suggestions and I am aware that my ideas are not foolproof. That’s fine because really I wanted to open up the conversation.

So, what does anyone else think? Maybe I am being unrealistic or idealistic or even unfair? Let me know in the comments. I am a big boy.

*

Thank you for reading my thoughts on the hot topic. I would be very interested in hearing what others think. If you have something to add to the conversation, please don't hesitate to drop a comment, if you want to show some love, please click the heart.

You can also subscribe to stay up-to-date with my work.

If you have time and are so inclined, here are a couple of my other pieces:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

fact or fictionindustryhow tofeatureadvice
15

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    Paul, I think what you wrote has been on the minds of many members at one time or another. We'd be very naïve to think that 4 judges could read every submission. If it doesn't grab them initially, it's not read to the end. I've been part of Vocal for less than a year and I'm not sure I will re-subscribe. I've enjoyed the challenges and even though this is very new to me, I've tried my hand at several different genres and even won 3 Stories of the Week, so it hasn't been a complete loss by any means. There have been 2 conflicting articles lately about how to win. The first focused on the importance of story telling and the second, written by a vocal team member, was all about creating one's group of readers in which he stated that often those submissions with the most "likes" are the ones that judges pick as winners. Now doesn't that fly in the face of skill and creativity! The official rules state that that would only occur if 2 pieces of writing are so closely matched in excellence that the judges are hard pressed to make a decision. Again, no offence meant to winners. Judging is subjective--it can't be otherwise as the judges are humans. They have become more transparent in disclosing reasons for their choices, but even reasons can be tailored to support choices. Not every piece of writing will resonate with all who read it. I have a couple of stories (that no one has read) that I will elaborate and eventually publish independently, so it has been an opportunity to grow and expand for me and I truly appreciate every single person who has taken the time to read and comment on anything I've written! I don't have a wide group, but I appreciate them all-- but I'm not in Vocal to win a popularity contest. Thanks for writing & opening up the discussion, Paul!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Literary magazines put a cap on entries and restrict repeat winners and they still take 8-10 weeks to review your work if they are reading at breakneck speed. The Vocal Curation Team only lists 4, notable, literary judges. I doubt they have the time to read through the slush, so to speak, especially with such a short time frame. You have valid points.

  • Yesssss, totally agree with all that you've said, especially where the entries should be anonymous when being read by the judges!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Sounds like a solid plan Paul! Great work!

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    I agree with some of your points. Honestly, I can't stand the unlimited number of entries. It drives me nuts to see 35 entries by the same person. It feels almost spammy, but that's me. I'd probably cap it at 3, if I were in charge (and I'm being generous). I don't like the exclusion of winners. Hear me out. I've won and placed several times, as you know and honestly, I think now, it's to my detriment as far as challenges go. I couldn't get arrested in a challenge now despite my work being much better than it was previously. Not sour grapes, just an observation. I think they have a "flavour" for a while and then when that's done, it's done. I honestly feel like when they read my stuff now they think, "good, but we just can't...it wouldn't look right..." This brings me to my final point, blind judging. I think that would be a great thing for everyone. That would avoid any prejudice in favour or against those who have or haven't won previous challenges.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I totally agree with all three of your rules. I do not think they are strict or even unusual. Most contest like that like writing or art contest, etc usually only allow one entry per participant. And vocal is going overboard with this. They are letting unlimited entries help because they want more and more traffic to their website. It's not about us the creators it is about vocal the corporation. It is capitalism running crazy. Anyhow I support you 100% and everything you said and this article. Great job.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Hey Paul, why do u think that u r alone in feeling this way. I have written things like "One grand to ten, instead of 10 grands to one. I have written many articles, Vocal does not like criticism, is my opinion. They will publish it, but,,,who knows. People must get disheartened when they see the same people getting rewarded, even when great stories are out there. I told one person, "It's not what Vocal can do for you. It is what you can do for Vocal. Bring in reads and be active all around.

  • Jasmine S.about a year ago

    I agree with remaining anonymous until the winners are announced. People tend to form bonds over time, even without having actual conversations, so if a judge has a favorite writer then... You know where I'm going with that. All your other points are solid. I've seen challenges elsewhere that have these rules implemented. Nice piece.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great article. I agree with a cap on entries. The number would depend on the type of challenge. I'd go with 2 for fiction and maybe, actually maybe the same for poetry.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Lots of interesting thoughts in here, Paul! I think not capping number of entries is something that I still like (as a fellow ‘never been a winner’ haha). It allows me to enter multiple pieces of very different types and experiment more especially in the challenges that have long timeframes. I also haven’t really noticed too many repeat winners but I haven’t paid that much attention to the names before… I’m guessing those repeat winners are just really talented and have figured out exactly what Vocal is looking for. Or just have the writing style that appeals to the judges. Seems it would be a shame to penalize them for that 🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    You make great points the entire way through. I approve this article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.