Journal logo

Vocal Income Reveal: What I Learnt from Writing On Vocal

My Experience Writing On Vocal: The Good, Bad & Ugly

By Noor Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Vocal Income Reveal: What I Learnt from Writing On Vocal
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Like most writers, when I first heard of Vocal Media I was thrilled. I couldn't wait to sign up and get started using the platform. Just the thought of getting paid for each article view encourages writers to test their luck on the platform.

What Is Vocal Media?

Vocal media is an online platform for writers and readers to explore different topics. It allows writers to earn from their writing through 4 different means: pay per view, tips, referrals, and occasional surprise bonuses.

Unlike Medium, it allows writers to still earn from their writing without opting for the monthly membership plan (Vocal+), yet offers them a higher earning rate if they have an active membership.

When Did I Join Vocal & Why?

I joined Vocal seven months ago after reading a few great reviews by writers on Medium who had success on Vocal. I was inspired by the idea of supplemental income and the opportunity to share my original Medium articles and earn on both platforms. It originally sounded like a win-win situation.

What Was My Strategy

My strategy consisted of two parts:

Transfer my originally written articles on Medium to Vocal. If you do this approach, then simply make sure you state the source and link of the article at the end in a separate line.

Write consistent original articles that need to be over 600 words and fit in the categories.

I aimed to promote my articles on my Facebook profile, on relevant Vocal Facebook groups designed for writers, and for niche-based groups that targetted my audience. Occasionally I would pin them on Pinterest and Twitter.

The Results

Unfortunately due to life’s commitments and responsibilities, I have not been consistent on the platform and wrote only 26 articles.

However, the majority of my earnings came from bonuses and one tip, rather than from reads. It is really cool to think you would get five dollars for reading and liking 15 stories on Vocal, as well as getting your story randomly selected as a top story.

Note that the bonuses are subject to change and were never declared publicly on the Vocal platform. I simply heard about them from other members who have similar bonuses.

The majority of my readers did come from Pinterest and Facebook, rather than the Vocal platform.

Is It Worth It?

I feel that there is a big potential on the Vocal platform. However, because I was not consistent in reading and posting content, I was not able to reap the full benefits.

I would highly advise you to check out the platform as a side hustle rather than rely on it as your main writing platform. Medium is my main writing platform and will continue to do so as it allows me the benefits of not only better earnings but interaction and engagement with other writers.

Next Steps

I hope to continue writing on the Vocal platform but adopt a slightly different approach but with more self-discipline and commitment.

Here is an outline of my next steps:

  1. Aim to post 2–3 600+word articles a week
  2. Promote articles on relevant Facebook groups, Pinterest and Twitter.
  3. Make sure they are SEO optimized and consist of a mix of trending and mainstream topics. This would ensure you also get traffic from Google.
  4. Use tools such as AnswerThePublic.com to research keywords and optimize headlines.
  5. Aim to read and like at least 15–25 articles by other writers on the platform and engage with them by giving them likes and following their work.

Have you tried the Vocal platform? If so, I would love to hear your experiences!

About The Author

Noor is a second-year business student at Tredu. She is also studying for Diploma in International Smart Industry at Tampere University. She is passionate about marketing and content creation. She recently launched her YouTube channel specializing in holistic healing.

product review
2

About the Creator

Noor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.