Journal logo

Vehicle registration plates of Utah

Two license plates are typically issued for each vehicle, and they must be seen from both the front and back of the car.

By License LookupPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Utah License plate

There are steps you may take to protect your rights and interests before shaking hands with the vendor and agreeing to buy his car. To ensure you are not purchasing a stolen vehicle or one that has ever been in an accident that would have resulted in permanent damage to the vehicle, check the vehicle history record.

If you've made the decision to purchase a vanity plate in Utah, you can use Utah license plate lookup tool to check the vehicle's history in Utah.

Registration of a vehicle in Utah is not a challenging process. If you follow our advice, this can be done with such simplicity and convenience. Dealers will make your life easier since they will handle the registration of the car you purchased, whether it is brand-new or used.

But if you bought a car from a private seller or got one as a gift from someone, it wouldn't work the same way. If so, you must register the vehicle on your own through the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Utah License Plates

Two license plates are typically issued for each vehicle, and they must be seen from both the front and back of the car. Motorcycles and trailers are the only vehicles that don't need two rear license plates. In addition to serving as identification, license plates give law authorities a way to track down the owner of a vehicle using DMV records.

Replacing Registration, Decals, and License Plates

It is your responsibility to obtain a replacement if any of the aforementioned things have been stolen, damaged or lost. You must make your request by mail or in person at the DMV.

To obtain a replacement license plate by mail, deliver the following items to the location provided below:

  • Written request;
  • Copy of the registration certificate;
  • Postage $4.00. (for regular Utah license plates);
  • Checks/money orders payable to Utah State Tax;
  • Commission.

Division of Motor Vehicles

Mail and Correspondence

P.O. Box 30412

Salt Lake City, UT 84130.

Who is eligible to register a car in Utah?

You can register your car in Utah if:

  • You lived in Utah for a year, even if you were away for a long period of time,
  • You have spent 183 days or more in Utah,
  • Utah is your place of residence, and you've spent more time there than anywhere else,
  • You work in Utah,
  • You run a business in Utah,
  • Your Utah driver's license is currently active.

A person has 60 days to register a vehicle after establishing his/her residency.

Exemption from Utah Vehicle Registration

The following non-residents are permitted to maintain their valid out-of-state registrations:

  • Utah full-time college/university students,
  • Utah-based military personnel.

General Utah Vehicle Registration Requirements

Before you go to the DMV, make sure you have the following documents:

  • Current Title & Registration;
  • Maker's Declaration of Origin (may grant new vehicles exemption from inspection);
  • Inspection Form for Vehicle Identification Numbers TC-661 (VIN Check);
  • Additional Ownership Records (if applicable);
  • Form TC-820 for Emission Testing Exceptions (for intercounty emissions differences);
  • Certificate of Compliance for an Emission Test;
  • Information about a lienholder or a leasing firm (if applicable);
  • Inspection for safety and emissions (if applicable);
  • Necessary fees (varies).

If you need to move an unregistered vehicle, you can get temporary permission. Inspection charges could be anything from $20 to $30, depending on the county.

How to Register an Out-of-State or Non-US Vehicle in Utah?

If you live in Utah and buy a new car, truck, or motorcycle from another state, it needs to be certified as complying with Utah smog regulations in order to be registered there. This comprises specific categories of automobiles. An application for a vehicle that is ineligible for registration cannot be accepted by the DMV.

Before importing the vehicle, make sure to find out if it can be registered in Utah.

Renewal of Car Registration in Utah

Utah requires the renewal of vehicle registration every year or so. Prior to the expiration date of your car registration, the DMV will send you a notice to renew your registration.

If your renewal notification instructs you to, or if you have any delinquent costs or unpaid traffic tickets, you must renew your car registration in person at the nearest DMV office. As payment for the fees, make sure you have a strong internet connection and a valid credit or debit card.

As an alternative, you can also submit an online renewal request if you have information on:

  • License Plate & PIN
  • You may enter the following information in place of the PIN:
  • Zip Code (Five-Digit);
  • Last Name;
  • License Plate;
  • VIN (last 8 digits).

how to

About the Creator

License Lookup is a premium search engine to find and verify licenses, a useful service to search and verify all professional license holders. Our mission – to be the leading license data provider in the industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.