Journal logo

Utilitarian Standpoint: Language Discrimination

Life Story 2

By Heeta JoshiPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

If my diet was the first thing, I remember being discriminated for, then my “lack” in linguistic skills is something, I am always reminded of on a daily basis.

Let’s start of with some basic facts:

  1. English is a global language. Colonialism made it certain that English now belongs to many nations. It is a part of many countries history and economy and people have to accept that (good or bad history, regardless).
  2. English is both the easiest and hardest language of all times. Take it from someone who’s learned English first and has become fluent in her mother tongue way later on.
  3. I personally find spelling in English extremely easy but pronouncing (new) words just as difficult.
  4. On that note, accent, grammar, and pronunciation are three different things, yet related.
  5. All three things are important for clear communication and comprehension. But making it a life and death situation as some (ahem grammar nazis) do? They most certainly are in dire need to get a life.
  6. Grammar is extremely important in the professional scheme of life. For instance, I am an avid reader, and when I pay for these books, severe grammatical errors are not acceptable. I can let go of a few within a book, I am that open minded. But if a few are littered on each page throughout the book, we have a problem.
  7. But rudely correcting someone’s linguistic skills on YouTube comments? Especially someone who is apologizing beforehand for their lack in English skills. Shame on you. That is exactly what I mean, when I say that grammar nazis make people afraid and apologetic to even speak. If you have the time to correct someone’s grammar on informal social media content, give yourself some time to brush up on some basic manners (i.e on how to be polite). Adding a smiley will help your crusade of perfecting English much more, than being a snob about it.
  8. Love how those who go out to correct other people, and leave a way for themselves to be corrected instead. Talk about irony.
  9. People often confuse accent and pronunciation. They also think that if someone else pronounces something differently than them, they are grammatically wrong. My favourite word to exemplify this conundrum is Nike. Yep the shoe making conglomerate.

Pronunciation: I have heard two variations of the spelling Nike. 1. Nye-key (American) 2. Nyke- rhymes with hike(English). Number one is what the brand calls itself. Number two is the grammatically correct way of saying it.

My question then is that if a brand is allowed to mispronounce it’s own name incorrectly by way of grammar, and yet earn so much money from people (including the grammar nazis)? Then why are people not allowed to make a genuine mistake without being schooled for it so hard?

Accent: It’s not the same thing as pronunciation. Accent is the weight of your voice because of your geographic location. That’s the best way I can think to describe it. But I would be pronouncing the word right, but your brain is not able (open-minded enough) to hear it right because you’re not used to hearing my accent. I’ll be saying red but you’ll always hear pink even if you comprehend that I’m saying red. That’s on you my friends, not me. People should not be expected to change how they speak simply to fit someone else’s idealistic English.

The easiest way to differentiate between accent and pronunciation for me is as such,

Accent- How you speak?

Pronunciation- What are you saying?

Now Onto Our Utilitarian Standpoint:

  1. Language is always evolving and changing. So unless you’re actually confused, grading papers, reading something you paid for, or dealing in something of a professional matter. Go home, brush up on your own communication skills and general knowledge before you go out to correct others.
  2. American ancestors purposely changed English pronunciations from the Brits to standout. So who are you folks now to turn around and correct others.
  3. If you’re so passionate about correct English as a North-Americaner, then my friends let me hip you to two simple facts.
    1. English originated in Europe, if you know where I mean.
    2. Colonized countries are taught British grammar.

Personal Story: I have been told that I have an accent because I have moved my entire life. But those who say that will be the same to tell you that I am relatively fluent and articulate compared to many who considers themselves the pioneers of language. But working at the call center under the fake name “Sarah,” no one except one individual even heard my accent. And what he heard, blew my mind. Sweet old man, but he was comically incorrect.

Conclusion: Yes improving English linguistic skills is important, no doubt. But the way grammar nazis or even those who think they are “helping” is not the way to go about it. It does NOT help, it only hinders.

  1. Help those who ask for it.
  2. Stop with the snottish attitude, it’s really not a good look anymore.
  3. Mistakes, even with those who are fluent, is unavoidable. If I type a minutely faulty statement it’s not because my linguistic skills require help. It’s because I’m not the best typist; I hate editing; and I do not care to edit on informal content.

HJ

Until next time folks!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Heeta Joshi

#Freespirit #Humanity #Objectivity #Peace #Love

IG: heeta.joshi

Twitter: joshi.heeta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.