Journal logo

Uncertain Future

The scared heart.

By Luciana Jelicich Published 3 years ago 3 min read
I was asked what I would call the current chapter of my life - this is what I would call it.

My first story here - my favourite thing - a journal entry.

On Facebook, a group I follow of nerds, geeks and dorks asked a question - What would you call this chapter of your life? So many funny answers like - My back aches - and some others that made me feel like I wasn’t alone - like - Rock bottom. So often I think everyone has it better than me or that is the way life is supposed to be. I think we all want to hear happy stories from people - we want to be around people that uplift us - bring light and warmth.

I wrote - Uncertain future: The scared heart.

One day I’m going to be completely alone and I don’t want to be - but it’s not like I can really control it. I’ve fought through mental illness - I didn’t give up. In the beginning I couldn’t think or communicate - I couldn’t daydream - I fought hard and now I can do these things which brings me to my dream of writing. I want to be in that world in the world of artists - it’s where I am most at home and I think maybe in that world I won’t be alone even though it’s a solitary activity. I mean - stories is the way I’ve connected to anybody anyway - go out with my friends - go to a movie - go over to a friends place - watch a movie. Maybe I think if I put words on paper or on a screen - maybe I can be seen and heard - maybe it’ll be a dialogue in the realm of fantasy - outside of the real world and there heavenly conversation and ideal people like all the actors we idolise - the chosen ones - our favourites. Because I am speaking like Cyrano - even if I am also Christian - the dummy speaking his words of heart and eloquence - because I am both I think. Sometimes no one can see that I’m really Cyrano - I get my words all wrong so often.

Maybe I get too down - asking someone to listen to me as I blow up a life saving device with every breath of pain and negativity I speak as I figure out how to deal with my scared heart. People don’t want to hear the process of getting to a better place - they want to hear you in the good place which is where I would like to be too.

Maybe they can hear the desire to be rescued - the askance. And they hold their breath and stay still, hoping not to be chosen and I understand. That’s my Cyrano.

So am I looking for a hero? A superman? If I am then I should embrace my vulnerability.

Am I too realistic and thinking there are no heroes - no one wants to rescue anybody? Is that why my heart is scared? Am I scared because I’m not a hero and if I’m not a hero then no one else can be. Can a hero be inspired? Is heroism contagious? Do I need to be a hero first? Am I lagging behind the group, wounded, left to die? I have to keep up with the stronger ones in the group. Are these very words me standing up, having fallen, and taking my first steps to catch up?Am I at once strong and vulnerable? Strong enough to limp alongside a busy hero with his arm around willing to help me as he rescues the city?

I never gave up on my broken mind. Now I have a new challenge and maybe I will call on what was once broken and ask it work alongside that which persisted it into health - my determination to be well. And so I will use my imagination to write heroes into being with inspiration and guidance - maybe turning heads that have turned away and showing them there is some value here - there is at the very least a communion.

What if I ask you to be here? You can always say no. Would you chose that just because you can? Can my fragility compel you to stay? Or should I be left behind? If I need you maybe you need me too. Maybe there’s someone better than me though, someone more full of light for you - someone warmer. Someone who gives to you rather than asks you to stay. And so what is my payment when I am the scared heart -Beauty? Sex? Humour? Story? Family? Independence?

What if I have none of these to give - what else can I pay?

I think maybe just the warmth of this moment.

Luciana Jelicich

heroes and villains

About the Creator

Luciana Jelicich

I am a true amateur with a big imagination - so there’s no perfect here.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer but that dream got lost in the perils of life and most especially a broken brain - I fought to even be able to daydream.

Dream time.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Luciana Jelicich Written by Luciana Jelicich

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.