Journal logo

Trouble Paying Attention

Give yourself more credit

By Scott SindersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7

Remembering time only for a second. It is hard for our brains to retain information for years and years. We do have brightly colored images of memories plastered on our mental collage, but they aren't of days, weeks, or months in any particular time frame. Even in the case where you are locked up in a cell for an extended period of time, let us use as an example, those memories are made up from seconds that stick. Our minds are incredibly vast in their abilities and genius, but even the mind of a scholar has to refer to past notebooks or other people's practices to perform their modern day tasks. They could retain the information briefly enough to pass an exam and then their mind turns to the next set of lessons.

The other day I was sitting in the living room watching the football game and my wife asked if I heard her. I was engaged in the game and had the comfort of knowing she was directly behind me preparing dishes for a much anticipated Thanksgiving supper. The answer was no. I didn't hear her. The memory of the day was football and a ton of delicious and beautifully prepared food especially being down an oven. My mom made her world class turkey and brought it over. I often find myself not being able to hear everything said to me. I know it makes people feel as if I'm not engaged in the moment, but the question is, what might my mind be engaged in? I find that when I'm driving I am not the best listener. I am focused on driving. When I am watching the Rams' games, I am horrible at just about everything really. I am a good listener when I sit down and look people directly in their eyes and focus on their story.

Multi-tasking and paying close attention are not the same. I can have a load of laundry in the wash, be doing dishes while getting my calf raises in for the day, filling the pool up with water, and not be able to answer a question directly if asked one. Doesn't mean I didn't care, just when the mind is focused on a task or multiple if that's how you get down, then it's ok. I write this today to give myself more credit than I have been. I have been wondering why I miss a fair amount of statements being made by my family, friends, and loved ones and don't like feeling guilty for making them feel like what they say might not matter to me. It is the exact opposite for me. I like to be fully engaged in conversations. I don't like to catch a fly statement being hit to left field while concentrating on the guy on second. It has always been hard for me to make that double play. I love my family more than anything. But I do have things I like. When you are a focused individual this might happen to you as well. I guess try practicing the ability to open your ears to surrounding sounds when concentrating, and see if the results of what your tasks were are being completed to your standards. This is while responding to questions, sometimes stopping what you're doing to lend a hand, or even stopping for the remainder of the calendar day and picking up tomorrow where you left off. It is more seemingly frustrating when carried out in this way, but it could make for more friendly conversations. Just a thought. I love my family the most!!!

advice
7

About the Creator

Scott Sinderson

Sart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.