Journal logo

Top 5 Books I Recommend For Entrepreneurs

Build a Mindset To Be Your Own Boss

By Jess BriggsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Photo Provided By Canva

We have entered the era of the Entrepreneur. Everyone wants to be their own boss and toss out the time clock. With the right mindset and mentoring, anyone can be an entrepreneur. As a current business owner, these are the top 5 books that I have read filled the information I have implemented into my life to be the best business owner I can be.

1. Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert T. Kiyosaki

This is the first book that was recommended to me when I first started my journey to entrepreneurship. Starting, this book is about what you might imagine, two different socio-economic Dad's who heavily influenced Kiyosaki's life. I won't spoil anything for you, but for beginning Entrepreneurs, this is the place to start.

2. 8 Attributes of Great Achievers by Cameron C. Taylor

This is a short read, but full of inspiring stories of some of the greatest influential and prosperous individuals. From George Washing, Winston, Churchill, Abraham Lincoln to Walt Disney, and even Mahatma Gandi. The true stories given to us in this book will leave you inspired well after you've finished reading.

3. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey

This is definitely in my top 5 because it is a great read for self-improvement. When starting any type of Entrepreneurialship, you are going to become a leader. Most leaders I have come across in my professional and personal life has needed a lot of work on their own self-improvement. This book is an excellent way for you to remain a decent human being as you climb to the top.

4. Humilitas by John Dickson

Another great read for any novice AND master Entrepreneur. We are nothing without our humility. It is the way we connect with people and show compassion. You lose your humanity without humility and the greatest people in the world are people of humility. A great read for another added boost of self-improvement.

5. Failing Forward by John C. Maxwell

Failure is a part of life. We all will experience at some point, but we will also all respond to it in a different way. In this book, John C. Maxwell does an excellent job of explaining that failure happens, but how we react to failure is when real growth happens. I highly recommend that you read this even if you are not an Entrepreneur (I recommend that for all of the books on this list, actually).

These books are not placed in every particular order. This was the order I read them. They all have helped me improve as a wife, mother, friend, and coworker. I have improved my confidence drastically by interacting with people and have gained the ability to connect with just about anyone.

I enjoyed reading all of these books and will be reading them again in the future. They are excellent reference guides to making sure that I retain the knowledge I’ve gained. Connecting with people on my website and social media has become easier.

I didn’t include any books on virtual networking, but considering the circumstances, I’m going to need to read some. Working and socializing over technology isn’t the same and I know it has been a struggle for me. This psychological and physical implications this quarantine is going to have on the younger generation will likely be years maybe decades.

The best we can do is stay in touch as often as we can and check up on each other. I would really love feedback from fellow readers and writers on how you’re doing during this COVID 19 crisis. Take care of yourselves and stay safe!

-Jess B., Check out my website for Writers: http://www.evergreenwriters.com

book review

About the Creator

Jess Briggs

As a child, I found my home in books.

These works are the ruminations of my imaginative philosophyღ

Enjoy!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jess BriggsWritten by Jess Briggs

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.