Journal logo

To the Next Generation

A Letter from Someone Approaching the Hill

By Nathan BoxPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

These words are my own. I write them as a card-carrying member of the millennial generation.

Coming of age during the turn of the century was both a terrifying and exhilarating experience. Like generations before me, both domestic and global events, coupled with the fallout from a constantly connected world, defined my life and the lives of my generation.

We witnessed the fall of communism and looked out at a world where the United States of America emerged as a lone superpower. Domestic terrorism and inner-city crime filled us with a fear that seemed inescapable. Scandal consumed our institutions. These scandals destroyed our trust in government, churches, and schools. “Generation Lockdown” began with us and continues to this day. 9/11 was a moment in history none of us will ever forget. American innocence seemed to be lost forever. The empire showed cracks and those forcing the collapse were coming from within and outside the country. There were glimmers of hope, but fear, xenophobia, racism, and a reintroduction to white nationalism (something that never really went away). Finally, in a moment that could have drawn us closer together, a global pandemic, far more was lost than just lives. A cultural wedge was driven between our people, which may serve as further evidence of our downfall.

At the same time, we were being raised by, perhaps, the worst generation in human history. Baby Boomers, who have dominated much of the cultural landscape for far too long. They grew up longing for a world of peace, love, and understanding. They preached acceptance, tolerance, and equality. Then, when things got difficult, they moved to the suburbs, built silos, embraced radical conservative ideology, and elected Ronald Reagan.

They are a generation of sellouts and sociopaths. They were quick to hand out praise in the form of ribbons and trophies and then complained we were a generation of spoiled, overpraised youth, as if we bought the trophies for ourselves. They embraced diversity, but only from afar. They taught peace and then falsified reasons for war. Love was a lesson of their youth, but they worked tirelessly to ensure religion and tradition kept people from expressing that love. They looted and destroyed the environment for all it is worth. With hands caught in the cookie jar, they denied it all in the name of never-ending profits.

We are a product of the generation who raised us. I fear we have made things worse for you. As I write this, we are raising the next generation and the generation who will follow in your footsteps. I hope we are undoing generational harm, but only you can be the judge of that. I hope you fulfill promises that were made to us. Already, I am seeing evidence you will.

You are demanding equity, diversity, and inclusion. Your reactions to those who are different are not so rigid. I see your demands for a country that is fair and just. You have seen the harm of wealth concentrated in the hands of the few while the many struggle and go hungry. You demand accountability from your government and are not afraid to shame them into action. Every tool is at your disposal, and you possess little fear of fighting the good fight. You demand better from your institutions. If they fail, I see you replacing them, hoping to construct something better. Finally, you see the harm we have caused this planet. You are the generation with whom course reversal is possible.

Generation Z, you are the generation I hoped we would have been. Bloodied, we could not leave you a world that feels like a better place. I am confident you can succeed where we failed.

As you go about this work, be gentle on yourselves. The American empire is on the verge of being lost forever. The loudest voices in the room will scream of this shame, but I would like you to question whether this should be an empire at all. Instead of military might, let’s win the war of ideas. Let us be true stewards of democracy, fairness, equity, and environmental protection. Instead of arms races, let’s work to win the hearts and minds of people with our words. Words should never be enough. Our actions must speak much louder. In my estimation, this is the only way we can wash some of this blood from our hands.

Make no mistake, some of this blood is yours. “Generation Lockdown” must end with you. Building idols out of guns and a false god out of the 2nd Amendment must end with you. So should the inner-city violence and rural desperation. We are too quick to reach for weapons and too slow to find understanding. This will be one of the monumental challenges before your generation, but it must be the cause of your generation. How you decide to treat each other will feel like circles in a pond after a rock has entered its depths. Those ripples can bring about waves of change or they can be tsunamis of destruction. Again, the choice is yours.

The generation who raised us never apologized for their choices, but I will. Where we have failed you, please know I am deeply sorry. While I have spent my entire adult life in the service of others by working in the nonprofit sector, I know there is so much more that I could have done. I could have challenged myself to be more involved in radical change. These institutions who constantly fail us could have known my name. For failing you, I am sorry.

As I approach the middle of my hill, please know that I am not moving to the suburbs and fencing myself in anytime soon. If you will have me, I am still willing to work alongside you. If we are honest, the battle before you cannot be won by you alone. It will take all of us. As a member of the millennial generation, I am asking a simple question. Where do you need me?

Be good to each other,

Nathan

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Box

I am a reader, writer, hiker, cinephile, music fanatic who finds himself constantly searching for the next grand adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.