Journal logo

Tips to Winning A Vocal Challenge

Want a few tips on how to win a vocal challenge?

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7

Vocal has been doing writing challenges for a little while now and they are proving to be a cool and fun way of inspiring writers. Also, the cash prizes are pretty nice as well. It seems that every few days Vocal is coming out with a new challenge idea and partnering with other companies to boost engagement. Really it is an ingenious business strategy for Vocal and I for one and a fan.

I’ve done a little snooping on other challenges just to get an idea as to how the winning story usually reads. I’ve also looked at a lot of past challenge winners for insight as to what style they have as a writer. Furthermore I did a bit of reading on Vocal itself and I think I've found a few tips that might help any writer, including myself, to possibly win a challenger.

Tip #1

Vocal allows you to submit as many entries to a challenge as you’d like. There is no cap. This means you can enter stories that you have already posted as well as new one. The more times you submit the higher your odds might be of winning the challenge. Start by submitting older stories and then get writing on some new ones. Maybe your first story is fantastic and you submit it but, a day or two later a new idea sparks in your head. Well, sit down and type it out because the clock is ticking. How long will it really take to get a few hundred words down on paper. I believe in you!

Tip #2

Use your personality when writing. I know, I know; you hear that all the time. This is a bit different than your school essay or resume cover letter though. I mean the platform allows and encourages you to attach photos, video, gifs, and more. Use it to your advantage. If someone feels as though they can connect to you on that personal level, your writing will be more likely to stand out to them.

Tip #3

Now this one is important. READ THE RULEBOOK. I didn’t even realize that I had basically disqualified myself from the first few challenges that I entered. Taken directly from the Submission Guidelines of Vocal, “You must have a Vocal+ membership account at time of entry to the Contest.” Not only that but it is required of all people submitting to the challenge to have a Stripe account. Once again quoting the Submission Guidelines, ”You must have a Stripe account connected to your Vocal account in order to be eligible to receive cash prizes. This means you must be a resident of a Stripe-supported country OR have Stripe Atlas enabled to be eligible to win.” For some reason, when I first signed up, I thought all you had to do was write at least 600 words about whatever topic was posted. Apparently, there is more to it when a few thousand dollars are on the line. Who would’ve thunk it?

Now I know it is not much, but as I learn and grow on the platform I will hopefully be able to offer more tips. I myself have yet to win any challenges on vocal, but seeing as it has only been a week, I am optimistic that one day I might at least place 3rd. These three tips are things that I have picked up on in and felt as though others may appreciate a little bit of help and support. I wish you all luck of your writing endeavors and in the wise words of Suzanne Collins, “ My the odds be ever in your favor.”

advice
7

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.