Journal logo

Time for the Tea (with Books)

My taste for tea and all things bookish come together

By JaimiePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Time for the Tea (with Books)
Photo by Aidana Khabdesh on Unsplash

Drinking tea whilst reading a good book is one of the finer things in life. But are all teas made equal? More importantly: are certain teas better with certain genres of books? I really don't know, but I'm going to try. Why? Well, why not? Might as well have fun with it.

YA Reads

For those YA reads, I would recommend a simple black tea like English Breakfast. Honestly, you can get this anywhere. I think it would be the tea that most people associate the word 'tea' with.

NA Reads

New Adult is a fairly recent genre to emerge. Some argue that it should be called something else, something that acknowledges the jump in reading maturity but doesn't gatekeep the genre as much. However, for now, the genre name has stuck. It is typically considered a sub-category of adult literature, rather than young adult literature, and generally focusses on protagonists in the 18 to 30 year old age bracket. Popular NA novels include: 'It Ends with Us' by Colleen Hoover, and 'Fangirl' by Rainbow Roweel.

I think that these novels are a little bit spicier than the other novels presented thus far, but it depends on what you're reading within the genre. So, I'm thinking that a chai tea would pair nicely with this genre. A cardamom chai - with the sweetness of the cardamom - might be the way to go here.

Steamy Romance

Whilst you might be thinking that a steamy romance novel is best enjoyed with a cup of sparkling moscato, or a red wine over ice, the answer to every drink conundrum is obviously tea. A tea that has a bit more spice is the masala chai. The masala chai is a tea made from a spice blend that is usually made with milk. This spicy tea should pair perfectly with those steamy romance novels that are circulating TikTok currently.

Middle-Grade Fiction

Look, we can pretend that these books don't hold up, or we can just accept that they do hold up, even as an adult. They're easy to read and enchanting in their own right. A good Middle-Grade Fiction is honestly a joy to read.

Hence, the tea that you should pair with a good Middle-Grade Fiction should be slightly whimsical, light and easy to drink. Something fresh. Green tea's often taste fresh. However, the specific green tea I would drink with a good Middle-Grade Fiction is Genmaicha.

Genmaicha is the first loose-leaf tea that I tried - just like how some Middle-Grade Fictions were the first books to get me into reading. It consists of a green tea leaf mixed with roasted popped brown rice. Genmaicha tastes like popcorn and I fully recommend it. I paired it with a recent middle-grade read of mine, 'Nevertell' by Katharine Orton. This book earned an easy 4 stars simply by being so enchanting to read.

Mystery Novels

For a good mystery book, I would go for a nice Earl Grey. It's a bit more of a fruity taste when compared to some other teas on the list. It's aromatic, so I think this tea can be helpful to immerse yourself in the story.

Westerns

A genre that I could put a tea to but could easily put down is Westerns. Westerns are NOT my cup of tea, but a good Russian Caravan tea certainly is. Russian Caravan is a blend of different black teas that has a very smokey taste. I think especially if you're reading scenes that involve campfires or other rustic settings, this smokey tea will add something extra to the experience.

Urban Fantasy

If you want to pair a tea with an urban fantasy, depending on the kind of vibe you're going for, something a little bit more fruity and whimsical might be a good fit. My suggestion is coffee cherry tea. This tea is made with the sun-dried or lightly toasted skins of coffee cherries, and is sometimes mixed with cinnamon. It's an interesting flavour that pairs well with the interesting worlds of urban fantasy.

Enjoying Books in Company

If you're in a book club that meets over an afternoon and studies contemporary works, I'd go with an Assam tea. Another black tea, it's often described as having a malt flavour. It puts me in mind of an afternoon picnic with friends whenever I drink it. It's rich and savoury, and I think it works well with contemporary reads, in a complimentary kind of way. This tea puts me in mind of a nice sunny day picnic every time I drink it, and I think it would be best enjoyed in a book club.

Conclusion

Honestly, I think tea is one of the most versatile drinks out there. I also love books. This is why they should be paired together, but it's up to you to decide which teas best enhance the reading experience for you. Happy reading and tea-drinking!

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jaimie

Amateur writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.