Journal logo

Three Tips for Networking in Your Job Search

There are as many ways to network as there are people

By Tricia HPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I've heard job and career experts talk about the importance of networking in a job search. They’d say that networking is a great way to find a job, but I’d never really used it myself. My vision of networking was a group of people getting together, passing out cards and resumes, talking about companies, positions, or hiring managers they knew about, and talking themselves up, selling their skills and experience.

This concept didn’t work for me; I’m a bit of a loner and parties for “fun” aren’t really my style, so a party-type scene for something as important as making connections for career advancement or a career change was totally intimidating. I don’t really like promoting myself and therefore I’m not very good at it.

What I found though, was that I was making a big mistake in thinking networking was just that one way, when in reality networking doesn’t have to mean a get-together of strangers making connections (especially not in our current COVID world).

Without even realizing it, I’d networked my way into several jobs. From those successes, I came up with these three tips for using networking as part of a job search.

1. Tell all your friends and family you’re looking for a job. A simple “I’m looking for a new job, if you know anybody that’s looking for or needs help, let me know” can be enough.

2. Tell acquaintances & casual contacts you’re looking for a job. This would go pretty much the same as telling friends and family, but you’ll probably have to provide some details about what kind of work you’re looking for. “I’m looking for work as/in “X”, if you know anyone or anyplace that needs help.”

A couple times I’ve gone so far as to drop a casual line at a company I’d be interested in working for. “If you guys ever need help here in the office, let me know. This seems like a great place to work and I’m looking for a new job.”

3. Tell your social media contacts you’re looking for a job. I’ve seen people on my social media feeds posting that their company is looking for help. By posting that you’re looking for a job, a connection could be made.

These are really simple things to do, and all you’re asking for is a connection. It’s kind of like six degrees of Kevin Bacon: someone may know someone who needs someone. And if your timing is right you might be the someone.

Here’s how these networking strategies worked for me.

Many years ago, a casual friend of mine had a home renovation company and in a conversation one day I mentioned to him that if he ever needed someone with my particular skill set (or lack of skills related to carpentry and woodworking) to help him, I was available.

As it turned out, he did have an almost immediate need, and I helped him replace a door. From that small job, I began to work with him off and on, and even eventually worked regularly on a large home renovation. While the work wasn't always regular, and was seldom full-time, I continued to work as an “apprentice carpenter”, earning enough to pay my bills each month.

Because of the sporadic nature of this job, and the physicality needed, I really wanted to do something better suited to my talents. One day, while having lunch with a friend of mine, she mentioned that she was moving out of town, and was going to be giving notice at her job. I saw an opportunity and took it, asking if she'd let me know when she did turn in her notice, and if she would put in a good word for me when I applied.

She agreed, and it worked perfectly: she called me the day she gave notice, and within hours of her resignation, I had submitted my resume to the person who'd make the decision about hiring her replacement.

A few days later I had an interview, and a few days after that I had a job offer, and started the very next day!

I'm smart enough to know that part of the reason I got hired was because of my resume and skills, and part was due to the interview, but without my friend giving me the heads up, I likely never would have known to apply, and I'm sure her recommendation helped, too.

My most recent job I also got by talking to a friend, and mentioning that I was looking for work. As had happened in the past, she knew someone who was looking for help, she connected us, and put in a good word for me. A week or so later, I was on the job.

I recently lost that position, and have been slogging through a job search in the age of COVID, where some postings receive more than 1,000 applications.

After seeing a post on LinkedIn about a former colleague’s new job, I sent her a brief note of congratulations. She responded with a “how are you, what are you up to?” I took advantage of the question and mentioned that I was looking for a job.

She responded by saying that if I wanted, she could and would check with the local office of the company she’s working for to see if they have any open positions that would be a good fit.

That’s networking in its simplest—and as far as I’m concerned—easiest form.

You wouldn’t be reading this article if not for networking.

Quite a while ago, yet another friend of was posting about her success writing for a variety of online publishers. Being curious, and thinking it sounded like something I'd like to do, I asked her about how it all worked. Based on her recommendation and success, I decided to give it a try, and I began to write for several places, earning money every month for doing so.

As those platforms came and went, I made a lot of online acquaintances and we’re always sharing places we’ve found to write and publish. It was one of them who turned me on to Vocal.

Without taking the step to talk to someone, to ask someone, or to tell someone I was in the market, it's highly unlikely any of these opportunities would have come to me.

I am now a firm believer in the power of networking, and know that there are as many ways to network as there are people doing it. Everybody knows somebody, and you never know who those somebodies know; taking advantage of that is what networking is all about. And I'm proof that it works.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Tricia H

Dog mom, Texan, amateur photographer,crafter, reader, writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.