Journal logo

This is Why I'm Not Leaving Vocal to Join Clubhouse

Content creation is like a game of chess; a creator should always stand alongside his queen

By Rui AlvesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
10
Artwork by the author using Canva

Vocal is my oyster, and I'm its black pearl. I'm a writer searching for the surrogate writer in me. I'm not a sheep happily trawling behind and following the herd to greener pastures. However, if I were a sheep, I would be a black lamb, and I must say I love lambs as they are the cutest little devil-dwellers. I can spend hours watching them hop around in the meadows next to my house.

Notwithstanding, I understand the hype about Clubhouse and how, out of a sudden, everybody is screaming for an invite to join the money-making audio, social network. 

Introducing Clubhouse

Even if you aren't a digital nomad, you've undoubtedly heard about Clubhouse. Launched in April 2020, with only nine employees, the audio, social network keeps building on that initial hype via an exclusive invite-only Creator Pilot Program available only on Apple iOS.

Clubhouse hosts a community of 10 million users and draws in celebrities like Oprah, Kevin Hart, Jared Leto, etc. You can find them joining the rooms and engaging in different conversations on different topics. Users have described the new social experience as a combination of networking opportunities, panel discussions, and live podcasts.

Clubhouse increased its user base tenfold within two months. Today, there are over 10 million users on the platform. The app initially valued at $100 million has, as of January 2021, an investment interest of $1 Billion. Clubhouse seems to be a striving social media unicorn carving a solid path to strengthen itself as a relevant digital content platform.

What is Clubhouse

Clubhouse is a social network where users communicate only through audio. In this way, the interaction resembles a live podcast and traditional discussion boards. Thus, it seeks exclusive content to create an engaged community. We can use it for entertainment or even professional purposes, networking, and even online sales, transforming it into a money-making platform.

How to join the Clubhouse

Clubhouse developers' primary goal is to get the social network platform working smoothly on iOS before releasing it to everyone. Presently, there's no official release date for Clubhouse on Android. Paul Davison, CEO and co-founder of Clubhouse, has recently confirmed that the Android version should arrive "within the next few months."

However, if your device is compatible, you simply download the app, launch it, select "Get Your Username," and fill out the form with your cell phone, name, and desired username. But that doesn't mean you will already be able to use the Clubhouse - you'll have to stand in the queue until you receive an invitation.

Why I'm sticking with Vocal 

Clubhouse is, for now, a community under lock and key based on an invite-only policy much like the Freemasonry or Opus Dei. Each user can invite two people to the community - or more, depending on the member's engagement in the community. Besides, those already in Clubhouse can grant access to people waiting in the queue without spending invitations. This applies to people on your contact list and even strangers.

Recently, several tech experts have highlighted potential security weaknesses in Clubhouse after the app suffered a data breach. Furthermore, there have been reports of content leaking from several chat rooms to a third-party platform, although the app's regulations forbid this practice. This forced the company to apply "safeguards" to prevent third parties from accessing the app's audio.

Clubhouse may open a vast universe of possibilities for content creators; there's no denying it. However, anyone planning to join the platform should know the potential security flaws. Thus, if you move forward and install the app, this is how to protect yourself from malicious applications.

  • Only install applications from official sources;
  • Carefully examine the permissions to which you consent when installing an application;
  • Be wary of recommendations or invitations to an application, even if they come from someone you know. Before installing any application, seek information from reliable sources about the potential risks you may be facing.
  • Consider purchasing a mobile security solution that protects your device from malicious applications or those that do not respect data privacy standards.

Final Thoughts

"I am Legion, for we are many!" That's my motto as a creator. As a musician, I love the spoken word and everything audio-related. Nevertheless, I'm above all a writer, and Vocal has become my Queen.

Michael Jackson once said: “I am always writing a potpourri of music. I want to give the world escapism through the wonder of great music and to reach the masses.” When writing, I share Michael’s kaleidoscopic insight. I write a potpourri of stories. I feel as if my mind is shattered like a rainbow of colors refracted by a single beam of light passing through stained glass. I look at myself on the marble floor, and I see an array of colors going from violet to red; realizing Fernando Pessoa's insight when he wrote:

I am but an empty stage where various actors act out various plays.

___________________

Thanks for reading this article. Please feel free to come back at any time and pick up another thread from my Vocal book of content by clicking here. Small tips and big hearts are highly appreciated. Till next time, cheers.

-Rui

social media
10

About the Creator

Rui Alves

Hi, I'm Rui Alves, a teacher, army veteran & digital pathfinder. Author, alchemist of sound & Gen-AI artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.