Journal logo

The Struggles Of a Single Homeless Mother.

Real-life.

By Nalana PhillipsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

The struggles of a single homeless mother. Will not lie. Things have not been easy for my daughter or myself these past eight years. We were homeless in California for several years because of how hard it is to find housing. A number made me promises of people who said they would help us but then never came through. We thought we would come to New York and live a different life with another person who said they were my friend and would help us, only for them to turn out to be not what they represented over the phone. She did not keep any of her promises.

Once again, we have found ourselves in the same situation once of being homeless because I could not deal with the person's abuse anymore. We changed our habits to please her and her child. We kept quiet and tried to be as unobtrusive and respectful as possible because it was her home we were living in, but we got treated like nuisances and annoyances. We got screamed at for taking showers regularly. I got chastised because I did not communicate with her the way she wanted, yet she never felt the need to communicate with me. Leaving her kid with me at the drop of a hat without even telling me beforehand.

I watched as her son slapped my daughter across the face, and when I tried to bring it to her attention, I got an attitude and deflection of how it must have been my kid's fault. Which it was not because I was standing right there.

Now I have to scrimp and save to stay in a hotel until I can find a place to live. Every wrench that can be thrown in our way is happening. I have applied to several apartments and have been turned down. I am trying to work but not getting enough hours. I am looking for a second job but cannot find my social security cards or birth certificates because we rushed out of that house so fast. Neither one of us wanted to stay there another night.

So once more, I have to make do with what we have and can only hope and pray things to turn around for us. I will not lie that I am stressed and tired much of the time. And on top of everything else, we have to quarantine because we might be infected with Covid-19.

I am trying to keep myself positive and am thankful I have people to talk to about how I feel and what we are going through. I am grateful that my daughter is a lot happier now that we are no longer in that situation. I myself am happier in some ways, but now I have to wonder and worry about how we will keep ourselves from the streets once more?

I fear this the most because I am not sure I could survive going back into a shelter or have to experience the things we did in California.

I am lucky in many ways, and I know others are going through similar things in their lives. I am only writing this because it helps me process my feelings and get out what I am thinking. I want people to know the truth of what some single parents go through. Many think we are too proud to ask for help, but that is simply not true.

When you have accepted offers of help only for it to turn out to be a regrettable experience, it can become hard to seek help again or accept offers that come along for fear of the same thing happening all over.

I hope whoever is going through the same thing know you are not alone. There are others here too. I pray every day for things to get better, not just for myself but also for anyone going through the same situation. Just remember to keep your head up and hope in your hearts. Things are unpleasant and difficult now, but tomorrow is another day.

As always, readers, keep love in your hearts and care for others as you would hope to have them care for you. Good luck.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Nalana Phillips

I am a single mother. I am looking to become a writer and am trying to eventually make a living from it.

I hope you enjoy anything that you read of mine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.