Journal logo

The state of mind.

When they say its all in your head , they are not wrong.

By shireen naazPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
The state of mind.
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

Our mind is truely the scariest place of all. Its certainly small ,an unseen part of ourselves but oh how it controls us . How it can control everything around us and we often underestimate the power of our consious,subconsious and unconscious and superconscious mind. Lets assume that our head has a world of its own , where it mismatches the stories and events and the people according to the emotions we feel and the fun part is even the emotions our controlled by our mind . Every tear that run down our cheek and every smile that slips from the corner our lips , All of it is well planned and controlled . Many books you may read , many theories you may analyze but unless you feel it happen in your life you won't realise that it is actually there. A bit story time - so in past like two years back I was petrified of animals In fact any living thing other than humans , I was afraid of . Whenever someone would bring any animal close to me like rabbit , cat , puppy anything I would scream and cry and there were shivers down my spine . I told myself i was zoophobia ( fear of animals). Even my parents were convinced that there was something off ,cause every other child was able to play with kittens and pugs while I would shrink to my own place and would turn white even on the thought of them.

It went like this for years and I was all in , that I would never be able to pet an animal .One day one of my relatives just threw a kitten at me and I fell off the sofa, there was no one in the room but I was embarrassed head to toe ,more than I fell off the sofa I fell down in my own eyes. A small sweet white kitten her name was oreo made me so afraid ? well I came back home I thought on it for weeks .Maybe I am just different from others , maybe I am by-default stupid ,I was filled with doubts . then eventually it faded away. One day I went to his place again and just randomly picked the kitten in my arms I took her downstairs and everyone was just shocked cause for more than seventeen years this girl used to quiver even at the thought of it and for me- The war with myself was over. The kitten slept peacefully in my arms and became my bestfriend.

Oreo is the name of the kitten and she and I, tell a small story of bravery. It seems so strange and distant to me now that how actually I made up all the things in my head . At last the fear that I carried was just a state of mind and I could have carried it till I was old and saggy and would tell my Grand children how I have a phobia of pets and they might have it too but now I will raconteur this tale of how a person who has never touched a living thing other than human their whole life can overcome it.And from years now I would sit in my arm chair telling how I over-powered the fear that had power over me since years.Although this is a very Insignificant thing to say but it definitely had a big impact on my life.

We often find ourselves being drowned in Grief ,fear and moments so spontaneous we don't know how to overcome ,I take it as ok well circumstances are something that pays a huge role in how we perceive everything and everyone around but at last our emotions are ,our emotions for a reason.The way people scratched you or might have hurt you is all a valid point to put forward for your inverse emotions but "will" is something we can master and I am not telling to manipulate yourself to feeling little to no emotions but we need to understand that its a state of mind.when we feed our subconscious mind sadness , sadness appears and same with happiness .

We as a co- creator of our lives possess all the power in this world over us. Let that sync in.

By Lidya Nada on Unsplash

literaturefact or fiction
1

About the Creator

shireen naaz

I am an 18 year old Y/A so the world to me is a very strange place right now I am still learning, experiencing and discovering new aspects of life so maybe with me you can once again see the world differently.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.