Journal logo

The Puzzler

By Ruben Ramos

By Ruben RamosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Managing stress is something I have learned to balance during my lifetime. I understand it can be a motivating factor but I also do not want it to push me over the edge. For the most part, finding time to relax is very important to me since I used to deal with depression years ago. Ever since I fought against my own negative state of mind and beat it I was determined to try my best not to fall back to my old ways. Thus, the need to take some time every week to relax and recoup so that I can stay happy and content with where I am and what I am doing. In general I like to play games, read stories, write, enjoy a cup of coffee, and socialize, all of which does help me relax to an extent. Coffee itself is my daily ritual and my wife and family have gifted several months’ supply of it. However, the activity that works best for me I like to save as a last resort because I feel like if it is used rarely then my mind does not have the opportunity to get bored of it. It would remain interesting and what helps the most is that my wife gifts it to me so I appreciate it even more so since it connects me with her in a sense. That and I have a habit of not spending money on myself so I would never allow myself to purchase something unless I deemed it necessary.

My wife knows I like puzzles so she has been getting me brain teaser metal wire puzzles, wooden ones too. When things begin to get too stressful and reading, writing, or games don't help ease the tension I save this as my back up. I sit in my chair and I fiddle with the wire puzzle casually. I do not try to finish it the fastest and I analyze every angle I slowly move the wires to. It helps me focus but more of a calm version of focus. Like the thoughts in the back of my mind quiet down and stare at the puzzle we have in front of us. The pressure I feel from being overloaded gradually dissipates and completing one gives me genuine satisfaction. Then I move onto the next puzzle and repeat the process. I would do this for at most an hour and it helps keep me grounded and relaxed. I would even go as far as putting the puzzle back together in its original state and save it for months until I forget how to solve it so that I could use it all over again. It works for me because I do not like spending a lot of money and when I do purchase something I like to get the most use out of it as possible. That is why I feel more comfortable getting wire puzzles that I could reuse indefinitely. There is also a bit of comfort in knowing it makes my wife happy that I enjoy her gifts since I can be hard to shop for. I have been doing this for about a year now through all the ups and downs and from my experience it has helped me plenty of times. In writing this I have come to realize the simpler the activity is, the more enjoyment I seem to get out of it. The fact that they were given by those precious to me also helps. Especially considering the amazing games and stories available these days and here I am feeling most relaxed with a cup of coffee in hand and a simple wire puzzle.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.