Journal logo

The Mind Can Wander...

Ways to Eliminate Distractions When Writing

By Emery RavenwoodPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Stock Photo from Pexels.com

A major issue many find when trying to write is distractions, whether it be from smartphones, television, people, or simply the environment they find themselves in. Concentration is crucial to a writer's flow. Interrupt that, and let writer's block begin!

These are just a few tips I have found to be useful over the years, and hopefully at least one of them will speak to you.

Eliminate Outside Noise

Although some people prefer white noise in the background, certain sounds can be very soothing to writers. I know some writers who like to listen to the sounds of nature (birds, the ocean, rain). Something I find myself doing more and more lately is going to YouTube and searching movie playlists. I know, kind of cheesy, but trust me, it works. Pick any movie (for example Avatar), search YouTube for the movie's soundtrack playlist, and hit play. It helps to choose soundtracks that are completely instrumental. I say this because it is very difficult to write when you are listening to song lyrics. By listening to instrumental soundtracks, you can eliminate any further distractions from writing. Also, though this is a personal preference, it helps to listen to music through earbuds or headphones to lock out all outside factors.

Pick a Quiet Place

It helps to remove yourself from a loud environment, even if that means leaving your own house. Try going to your local library, or (weather permitting) find a nice place outside. Each town/city has a bunch of different public places from which you can choose from. The key is to find a place with the least amount of traffic, not a lot of people coming in or out.

Be Prepared to Write

Preparation is important to any writing, whether it be an essay for school or a poem for yourself. It is important to have all materials set out in front of you so that you don't find yourself searching all around looking for a pen, or another sheet of paper, or your laptop charger. Make a list of everything you think you might need, collect, and make a pile. You've chosen this time specifically for writing, so keep to it. Don't let yourself play hide-and-seek with stationary.

Do Your Chores First

This one might sound crazy, but it's one I struggle with all the time. I have a unique case of OCD where I am constantly making lists (hence the format of this post). Nine times out of ten I am making a mental note of something no matter the time. It bothers a lot of people when they are speaking to me because they see that I'm "zoned-out" and drifting further into my thoughts. So, what I've started to do is make a written list of all the "chores" that I should do (feed the cats, do the dishes, organize my desk, etc.), get them done first, and then start to write. That way I won't have my mental checklist running through my head as I'm trying to edit a chapter.

Do Not Force the Words Out

Okay, so everybody has heard of the brilliant phenomenon called writer's block. It's this beautiful trick your mind plays on you where it totally craps out and doesn't produce a single word for you to write. It is both mentally and physically straining, and most times leads to a headache. I have suffered on many occasions from writer's block, and I can personally say that the worst feeling is knowing you have something to say but are in no condition to say it. My advice: stop writing. No really, stop altogether! Do not put a single word more onto the page. Your mind and body are tired, and, like any muscle, straining it is only going to make this worse. Ever wake up to a pulled hamstring after running? Same concept. If you continue to push yourself and pry the words out of your head, you aren't going to go anywhere but backward. Because then, after you have scribbled something onto the page, you realize that it's a bunch of gibberish that nobody could translate. Give yourself time to heal, and return later. It is better to get your mind off the topic and then come back to it with a fresh set of eyes to work with.

These are just my five suggestions, but there are bound to be plenty of others. Keep in mind that not all minds think alike. You may find that none or all suggestions are helpful. That's okay. Maybe you have one you'd like to share? Leave it in the comments.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Emery Ravenwood

Fiction writer and poet. Scribere ad vitam.

https://www.inkitt.com/emraven191

https://twitter.com/emraven191

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.