Journal logo

The Joy of Writing

Inner Peace through the written word

By Tyler BrookePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Joy of Writing
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

There is absolutely no question about it. The human race is filled with many things that have been known to induce stress. Things like political discourse, rush hour traffic and the interaction of some less than favorable folks to name a few. Some of it can not be helped and must be dealt with. Things like finances, inner family turmoil, diet and weight loss are but a few examples of stress that can not be avoided.

People that wish to confront the stress of the things that can't be helped are stronger in every sense of the word. It's facing what scares and concerns oneself that determines ones strength of character. For those who choose to face these struggles help people grow emotionally, mentally and spiritually. Those that shy away from it, will never grow as a person and will find themselves as stagnant. Worse than that, people will turn to vises that help them stay clear of what ever issues they face. Like drugs or alcoholism.

That's not to say that we must deal with it every chance we can take. There are times where it is better to avoid it (or at the very least, take a moment to step away from it). Everyone needs some way to help us to sail through our emotional and mental struggles.

Some individuals like to knit, while others enjoy painting. These are just some hobbies that people do in order to put their mind at ease. If you ask me though, I personally, enjoy writing. I feel that writing is were I am truly at peace. Wither it's writing a story, jotting down notes for my manga series or writing the dialogue for my podcast series, I feel that writing is Zen above all other activities.

The reason for this lies within my youth. I was diagnosed with Asperger's at a very young age. For those of you that don't know, Asperger's is a form of Autism. Autism is a developmental disorder of variable severity that is characterized by difficulty in social interaction and communication and by restricted or repetitive patterns of thought and behavior. People that are on the autistic spectrum have a much greater difficulty interacting with other people. Not only that, but they also have difficulties communicating like a person who has not been diagnosed with this condition.

There's an old saying about people with Autism. If you have met a person with autism, then you've met a person with autism. What this means is that people can be affected people can not only be effected negatively by this condition, it also effects people differently. Some can get emotional, others can get non verbal, and some prefer not to have physical contact with other people. This in turn, males it difficult (though not impossible) to have a relationship with other individuals. Other symptoms of this condition include: experiences with social faux pas, lack of eye contact and impulsive behavior.

As one who was diagnosed with this condition, I have had (and continue to have) daily struggles with human interaction. Due to my condition, I was never really able to along with my classmates. Mainly because I never knew how to deal with the constant struggle of human interaction. Every day I had found it to be a constant struggle. While I still don't always understand the nuisances of human behavior, I find that I am at a better place, than I was when I was younger. I had continued to work hard at it to make progress to become the functioning adult that I am today. Though, if I am going to be completely honest, the credit for that is not mine alone. A good portion of the credit lies within my parents. For without them, I would still be struggling to the degree that I have when I was much younger. They helped me every step of the way, and I would not be the person that I am, had it not been for them.

During my transition however, I had found that writing was a good escape every now and again from the constant struggle of the subtle in human behavior. I would I was around 10 years of age, that I found myself enjoying writing to the same degree that I do today. It happened when I was in school. We were assigned to write a creative story for the class. If I am going to be honest, I still can't remember to this day what the story was about. All I can remember from it was the passion that I had while writing this story.

I had eventually used this passion to get my first children's book published. This story is called Peter and The Coal Christmas. It tells the story of a kid named Peter who comes from a poor family. Peter acts out all year round in order to get coal from Santa in order to keep his family warm during the winter months. He did things like fart in public and set garbage cans on fire. He was then rewarded with coal from Santa for his behavior.

Despite it's lack of popularity, it was good to know that my writing had become announced to the public. I still enjoy writing. I use my love for writing to work on my upcoming manga series, my new children's book and many more projects that I have planned for the future.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Brooke

Hello,

I'm Tyler Brooke. I'm 30 years of age and have enjoyed writing all my life. I'm a published author with one book to my name and plan on writing more. I joined this page to express myself creatively and to read well written stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.