Journal logo

The impossibility to fulfill Instagram's Standards

I come at Instagram always because it has let me down as a creator.

By Massiel AlbertoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Taken for my instagram account @withlovemasi (pending deletion on may 13th 2022)

I think I’ve talked about this more than I talked about books or writing, or even promoting my own books. But it is a necessity now more than ever. Our mental health is the most important thing. If our mind isn’t well, the whole body suffers. That is a universal fact we cannot deny. We cannot go on trying to fit into a community, following all the trends in the world, or just going to our social media, scrolling down our feeds, and comparing our lives to those who live the “aesthetic dream”.

At the end of the day, we will discover that it is all futile, and it leaves a sense of emptiness, a bitter aftertaste in the mouth of our minds.

I come at Instagram always because it has let me down as a creator. I don’t know how other people do it, but to me, it is impossible to satisfy the algorithm. When it is not my posts not being seen, it is some random account coming to my dm’s to say inappropriate stuff, an account that isn’t even real but you know is a bot all the way. My question is, one of the hundreds I ask myself every day is ‘Why, to start, you let bots reach my dm’s?’ And most importantly and demanding of an answer is Why did you cancel me when I try to denounce the inappropriate content that was sent to me? Like it doesn’t make any sense, right?

I, as a small creator, put a lot of great effort into trying to shoot my pictures, thinking about captions that in the end maybe half of the people following me will read; I have come to the realization that it is a waste of time to try and create a community where all people want is to see beautiful and aesthetically pleasant pictures and short videos, showing a reality that they do not live on, to gather a small number of likes.

Again, I am writing this, not to bring hate to the amazing creators that are successful and have created their wonderful accounts with much great effort. This is simply the point of view of an author who tried and failed. And tried many times, reading this and that, doing this or that but in the end it is the algorithm that decides, a simple robot, a mere piece of AI that will decide if I am worthy of the attention of the public.

I don’t wish to waste my time anymore doing so. I took the final decision to delete my account for good. It is a bittersweet decision because since 2019 I’ve been treating my account like my baby, always trying to become better. Also, the great human beings I encountered behind amazing accounts. Wonderful creators with impressive skills. I hope they continue to be blessed.

As for me, I hope you find other ways to reach out to me. Such as this space, that is my firstborn child, before I tried my luck with the gram, and in trying to enhance the other, I neglected it. I will soon repair my mistake. And take this lesson as a new beginning, the start of my mindful life. With my firstborn I mean my blog, the little corner of the world I created back when I was 18 years old, dreaming the writer's life. Dreaming that she could publish her own books and inspire hundreds of people.

The main purpose of my blog was first book reviews, but through time it has been shaping itself into more than that. Now that I think about it, it is my first home. The place that lead me to the life I dreamed of when I was younger. The author life. The only place that has truly contributed to spreading my work, the place I have all the control over, not a robot but me, the human being behind the dream, that now is a reality.

Again, I repeat, Instagram is full of wonderfully creative people I had the chance to cross paths with. These amazing creators put a great effort to bring quality consumable and positive content. To them, I give many thanks, for I have learned a lot from them.

As for me, I will continue my creative journey where it originally began, and I hope those who follow truthfully will cross paths with me again, away from the gram.

withlovemasi.wordpress.com

social media
2

About the Creator

Massiel Alberto

Massiel Alberto is a writer from the Dominican Republic. For as long as she can remember, she has had an affinity for the written word, not just fiction, but expressing her opinion through essays and reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.