Journal logo

The Drawing

How a pencil and some washable paint impacted my future.

By Allyson HowellPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Drawing
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

It all started on a seemingly random day in seventh grade.

Even though it was years ago, it feels like the day that I made that drawing was just yesterday.

I know that I've told this story about a million times. Everyone I know has heard it.

But the truth is, even though it was just a pencil and some Crayola paint, it shaped my future for the greater good.

I was on the school bus, listening to music. I was playing a song, and suddenly, something new happened to me.

I felt myself starting to daydream.

I had a daydream about a character. Which then developed into a group of characters. Which formed an entire plot in my mind.

I was completely taken to another world at that moment, even though the feeling was virtually invisible to everyone around me.

It was so immersive, and it made me almost forget where I was.

As soon as I got to school, I pulled out a worn-down folder and took out a sheet of blank paper.

I drew the character that flooded my mind. Honestly, I can't remember anything about school that happened that day. But the memory of what I felt is something that will never leave my mind.

As soon as I got home, I painted the character using the cheap little bottles of washable paint that I had in my bedroom. It wasn't a great drawing, but it was the first one I had ever made of my very own character.

Her name is Moonlight, and I wrote it on the back of the painting along with my name.

Now, this drawing seems to be irrelevant and unnecessary to talk about. But that's the point of the story.

As strange as this seems to be, this painting was just the beginning of it all for me.

After Moonlight was made, there were only more daydreams. I made a bunch of other paintings of characters that I created as I listened to music late at night.

Eventually, characters transformed into stories. Stories that made me realize that my destiny was to be a writer. It was clear as day, and the slightest daydream to anyone else was a door opening up to another world for me.

I wrote my first official story not long after I made the painting, and it was called "Cloud Island." It was a fantasy series. I wrote seven "chapters" in the span of just a few days.

My writing became my beautiful escape, and now my goal is to share that with the world to the best of my ability.

Following that, I started writing short stories outside of my main series about mermaids, shopping malls, ballrooms, and all sorts of other strange things that inspire me.

When I graduated middle school, I won an award for my writing, and my project was mentioned in its speech. I know for a fact that would have never happened without Moonlight.

Now, I've changed the name of my main series and I'm working on it as a passion project. I will never let go of my project, and it's always evolving.

I currently have over 20 stories planned for the main series that Moonlight used to be in, and hundreds of characters.

Lately, I've been using an AI program to develop my characters as realistic portraits, and I'm so happy with the results.

This is a character I made named Angel, the first character to appear in the series. (Made using Artbreeder)

The first script for my series which features Angel is complete and waiting to be brought to life.

I have massive plans to bring everything together after I graduate.

I know that little painting of that little character in my little world was the foundation of my destiny. I've said it countless times, but I'll never stop. Because it's the truth.

If you liked this, please consider subscribing to my page or even leaving a tip. Your support means the world to me so thank you for reading!

humanitycareerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.