Journal logo

The Brat

The Heckler

By Amanda LyonsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
7
Photo by Flaunter on Unsplash

Great, another "meeting". I was sick and tired of this god damned manager. He just didn't know how to talk to people. He was one of those guys that talked 'at' people not 'to' them. I almost felt sorry for him since he wasn't experienced with our type of store. It was so big and had so many moving parts...so to speak. He bit off more than he could chew and like I said I almost felt sorry for him. He seemed to not like me at all, although he tried to hide it by being passive aggressive and joking. I'm not sorry for the way I am. If I know how to do something better I'll suggest it, there's no time to sugar coat things, this is work.

He pulled us outside this time which was his first dumb idea. Right in the middle of the lot where customers were coming to pick up their orders. My work husband was there with us, he was a manager too but on the lower scale. So, naturally, we stood side by side the whole time.

My work husband and I were very affectionate- made a lot of people jealous and gave rise to several rumors. It made us laugh cause he's married and I'm asexual so...Seriously, it's time people realized that you can love someone without wanting to fuck them.

ANYWAY.

The store manager started talking and almost immediately I was leaning into my work husband. You'd think having to wear masks would be a good thing because I'm the type of person who's face is too expressive. I can't lie because I CAN'T LIE. My face always gives it away. Unfortunately, I also have no filter and I usually say whatever is on my mind. Needless to say I was having a very hard time stifling myself. Every time our store manager said something stupid or questionable I either snickered, rolled my eyes, leaned into my work husband or whispered into his ear. He didn't help because he would chuckle and shake his head. I guess we feed off each other- we're quite the pair apparently.

Our store manager had a problem too. He could never go too long without saying something dumb. Now, I realize that he can only do so much as a manager and that I, in theory, should have been easier on him. Lemme tell you why I wasn't. The guy was a two-faced asshole that micromanaged me out of a department that I was in love with. He was like a hawk constantly watching me and giving me snarky comments. He never liked me and I never liked him. We both knew it but this encounter cemented just how much I affected him and I'm so glad it happened. Also, he didn't know how to effectively run this store and didn't know how to listen to his best experienced workers. I never felt sorry for him in the end.

I need people to keep in mind that I wasn't talking the whole time through his meeting. I was just reacting to the dumb shit he was spewing. I also have always had problems with authority. I don't respect people automatically because of their age, status, title, etc. A person has to earn respect. I don't know you, so you have to prove it to me.

The meeting wasn't very long, maybe five to ten minutes. At the end of it he asked me to stay behind. I turned and looked at my work husband,

"Oh no, am I in trouble?" I smirked at him and saw the smile through his eyes.

I closed the space between us by walking five feet forward. It was him, me, my work husband, and the new assistant manager over our department. The store manager smiled at me and asked if I wanted a promotion,

"Oh god no! ....couldn't pay me enough."

I chuckled and watched his face. He had one of those faces you just felt like needed to get punched, y'know? I could tell he was trying to intimidate me. It wasn't going to work, I don't get intimidated by people I think are less intelligent than me.

"Well I was wondering because you seem like you have a lot to say."

I smirked under my mask and blinked slowly while keeping eye contact with him. I could feel my work husband tense up. After a long awkward silence I smiled and shrugged as he stared at me.

He smirked and pointed his finger at me, "You know...have you ever been to a comedy show?"

I'll admit I had no idea where he was going with this. But he did that a lot. He'd be talking about something for five minutes and transition horribly into a whole new subject so I simply thought he was gonna recommend a fucking comedian to me.

I shook my head.

"You know the people in the crowd that give the comedian a hard time?"

Ohhhhhh.

"What's the word?"

"Heckler." the assistant manager volunteered.

The store manager nodded, "that's it. You're like a heckler."

"Am I?" I asked dumbfounded while giggling.

"Yeah. The whole time I was talking you were shifting and mumbling."

I looked to my work husband, "Was I?", I asked with mock concern.

"Ehhh...a bit." he admitted.

Oh. "Oh. Sorry? I mean, you know how I am, I just react to things. Truthfully."

The assistant manager shifted uncomfortably and I noticed his eyes grow wide. My work husband stifled a laugh.

The store manager didn't agree with my being funny, "well, could you stop tha-"

"Cut back on it a bit?"

He stood there silent for a moment, how dare I interrupt him?!

"Yeah, it's just that you're an older associate. I'd hate for you to give the wrong idea to the new people."

That was rich. I scoffed inwardly while smiling. We won't get into how I try to warn all the new associates to not stay for long in this field. It's soul sucking to say the least.

"I can do that." I decided to end it. He was starting to get on my nerves.

He smiled that fake smile, "Ok. You can go."

I turned around and took a few steps before turning back around. I reached my hand out and grabbed my work husband on the shoulder. I could feel the store manager watching us, I squeezed his shoulder, smiled with my eyes, and asked, "you wanna do lunch?"

He turned around fully, let me hook my arm through his, and walked me back inside. Just before he opened the door for me he replied, "of course...heckler."

He could no longer hold in his laughter and I said to him, "I fucking love that I threaten him so much. Oh my god, that was delicious."

"He hates you, " my work husband said between chuckles, "that was so fun to watch."

"It was fun and I'm always going to remember this day."

"That's gonna be your new nickname."

"What?"

"The Heckler."

I smirked.

~~~This is actually based on a true event that happened to me. It was a great day~~~

humor
7

About the Creator

Amanda Lyons

Eclectic stream of consciousness and dark surrealism. What photography does for life I do for thought, emotions, and experiences. The genres can range from romance to horror but my favorite is suspense.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.