Journal logo

The Beginning of a New Era!

Why I choose the path of acting!

By Wasif ChowdhuryPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's been a while since I wrote something on here as I was kind of busy and I most likely won't be writing as much, but I will try to. I want to write differently from reviewing TV shows and movies. I want to discuss why I am aspiring to be an actor, so...

Why did I want to become an actor?

I always wanted to get into acting, but I never got around to do it because my parents are from an Asian heritage and they wanted me to pursue a different career path, so that's what I did. What attracted my attention was Computer Science at first because I use to play a lot of games when I was young. So I went to University pursuing this for a couple of years then I gave up with it because I did not enjoy my time at University.

I met a few friends and stuff, but I wasn’t really into it as much. So stupidly enough I dropped out in my final to pursue my life long dream of acting. As I said, I always wanted to be an actor, and I should have continued a long time ago. I don’t blame my parents for it as they wanted me to be happy, but it felt like they were forcing jobs that didn't suit me at all. I feel like being part of Asian heritage is tough for most people like me, maybe that's why there aren't many Bengali actors around.

I wasn’t kind of shy and not that confident at school, so that didn’t help but once I started my first retail job in Superdrugs that helped me gain a lot of confidence because I was able to interact with customers and staff. The main thing I loved about the situation was the staff because they were lovely and it felt like a family. I did consider staying there for a while, which I did, three years to be exact. Yes, that's a long time, but I knew I couldn’t stay there much longer as I did want to pursue my future aspirations.

The only thing that's holding me back was the money and also my age, but now that's not a problem because I researched that there were actors that starting acting at a late age and I do consider myself quite young.

I am currently on holiday, but once I come back to the UK. I am going to do more training in acting like mainly introductory level in screen acting, method acting, and also other skill sets that will help stand out from the crowd; like Archery, Martial Arts, Stunts, Dancing and many more.

Welcome to a world where social media is our biggest asset so that I will use that to my advantage. Finding connections across the globe.

My dream movies franchise or TV shows I would love to be in are: Marvel movies; this is probably most actor's dream of being part of. I simple adore Marvel and it is probably going to be one of the most long lasting franchise that I would love to be part! It would be very cool to have a Bengali superhero or villain haha. I also wouldn't mind being part of DC Universe either because I loved watching Arrow Flash and Gotham. I started watching Titans too which is very interesting! Speaking about TV shows I will be making a suggestion of TV shows to watch because I literally rinsed out Netlfix, Amazon Prime, and Now TV so I am up to date on all TV shows I would love to share my experiences with you lot.

I also would love to be part of CW network shows, but in particular, I would love to be in Legacies; I love the whole vampire franchise of The Vampire Diaries and The Originals. The cast of Legacies seem like a great family that I would love to be part of, and it will be a dream. I doubt this, but if Julie Plec were to read this I would be ecstatic, but doubt it as we do live in a small world, it's not that small.

On that note, I do hope you enjoyed reading this as I was quite bored on my flight, so I was like let me write something on vocal! I will probably be writing again sometime in a few weeks!

career
Like

About the Creator

Wasif Chowdhury

Actor/Writer

I will be posting reviews on movies. games and tv shows. I hope you enjoy my content because I will taking my time making these reviews!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.