Journal logo

Thank You Vocal

A tribute to Vocal.com

By Joe PattersonPublished 11 days ago 3 min read

The year 2024 marks my third year as a member of Vocal.com. It’s funny how I actually found this platform by chance. A loved one mentioned to me and others in mixed conversation how they were interesting in possibly writing children stories online for a chance to possibly make some money in doing so. With writing being my passion that I was seeking to pursue I thought to myself “maybe I should give that a try and look for such a site. It might be a good stepping stone where I can stretch my legs as a writer. I am proud to say that it is certainly one of the best choices that I have ever made.

This is gonna sound like a cliche company line, but Vocal has really been a life saver for me. At the risk of sounding vain I’m happy to say that I’ve actually been able to make money off my writing thanks to Vocal. I never gave thought to actually monetizing my writing before so that’s actually very rewarding, at least it feels rewarding me. I guess even in our passions we’re all about the dollar.

My first month on vocal was like traveling to another universe. With me being a big thinker and having a very active life I came up with so much to write on a daily basis. I love how Vocal has such a big plethora of categories that you can write for including: poetry, articles, personal journalism, and of course fiction. This sense of variety is very helpful when you consider your current mood. One day you may feel like expressing yourself poetically, other days you may feel like being a storyteller and decide to show off your fiction muscles.

With its variety of writing categories Vocal has convinced me to be more open minded. Before Vocal I was never interested in things like journalism. People I know used to tell me that I should be a movie critic because I’m a big movie buff, but I always rejected the idea because I preferred being the person who crafted the film, as opposed to reviewing it, but Vocal quickly changed my perspective.

During my first few months on Vocal the infamous date of Friday the 13th came around and being that the Friday the 13th movie series is one of my favorite franchises I decided to geek out and right a retrospective review and analysis article on the Friday the 13th film series while I binge watched its movies. This article ended up being my first top story ever. With this first top story I realized that had a knack for articles, one that drew heavy attention to my craft, so I decided to make review and analysis article a regular thing, which I still continue to this day.

I think most Vocal members would agree that Vocal challenges are big motivators for pushing us along as writers. I love that Vocal challenges are fun and keep us busy. Of course most of us never win or achieve being second place or runner ups, but the inspiration of the challenge really keeps our writing skills sharp and our ambition active. Vocal challenges have also helped me become an active writer in styles that I had never written in before like Haikus, Limericks and acrostics, so now I’ve discovered a new world.

Because Vocal is a community I found myself surrounded by countless likeminded writers. I found out I wasn’t the only one who was nice with the pen game. There are so many other writers here and they are the biggest perk of being a writer for Vocal. I love how supportive we are of each other as writers in this community. We’ve cultivated friendships with people who we may never meet in person and many of them support us more than the people in our personal lives. I also love how we learn and grow as writers by supporting each other and reading each others stories.

Vocal.Com has truly become another home for me. It’s a safe place where I can go when life gets rocky and I can express myself and grow as an artist. Most importantly it’s a community that has taught me to appreciate my fellow artist and in return they will appreciate you.

Thank you Vocal.

social medialiteraturecareer

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 days ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Excellent article ✅. So true… ‘ I love how Vocal has such a big plethora of categories that you can write for including: poetry, articles, personal journalism, and of course fiction.” Also… ‘ Vocal challenges are big motivators for pushing us along as writers. I love that Vocal challenges are fun and keep us busy.’ When I started attempting to write last October, I couldn’t write anything without a starter prompt.😵‍💫

  • Awesome. 🤗

  • Caleb Lahr11 days ago

    This is wonderful, Joe! I'm new to this platform, and the sense of community is what motivates me to log in every day.

  • Moharif Yulianto11 days ago

    Are there any tips and tricks so that I can be like you?

  • It's a nice gratitude to Vocal!

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.