Journal logo

"Teenage me"

By: J.A.F_Jess A. Fox

By Jessica A. FoxPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Do not own rights to photo (Photographer Unknown)

-Alcoholism thinking of all the dependent steps; am I an alcoholic is a question to test.

- Thinking back to teenage me, I am far from one, now anyway, I see; But let's lay it out because it might be your reality.

-See, I wanted to stop, did it cold turkey too, so no further steps, my actions almost through.

-Okay, I got the maintenance, but back to you, do you see a problem in what you do?

-Do you depend on that drink? Are you coping to no longer sink?

-Without that drink, can you manage the stress of every week?

-Now, wonder, can we turn up at a party? The answer is social drinking, simply occasional, yes, but what about when there's no party is the question to test.

-See, I'm a smoker, dependency is high; the first step to wanting change is realizing why?

-I say, so can you realize or don't feel there's a problem; step one on the cycle for help, one's denials a problem.

-So, can someone come? Come to make you see; no one can help until you realize your problems, G.

-G in if you realize the need for step two, it can happen; pull a chair so I can tell you how it happens.

-Now you're stepping away from pre-contemplation; No, wait, we need to explore it more. Until the need for change, if realized more, no time to educate the importance of change no anymore.

-They can give you all the info, but it's time for you to decide; realize the problem and question what you want in your life.

-In your life, do you want it? Good, you just took another step, Contemplation, Contemplation at its best.

-Now, is it physical or psychological dependence? It's time to identify; Source one defines it better than I. "Physical dependence: …Body becomes so accustomed… it can only function if the substance is present… Psychological dependence is central to a person's thoughts, emotions, and activities that it becomes challenging to stop… (section 2, p1)."

-Difficultly to stop is the smoking for me; then to is to identify, Abuse and dependency? Back out of my standard A B. "Abuse: person continues to use, despite consequences. Dependence: person also dealing with tolerance and withdrawal (section 2, p2)."

-So, are you ready to 1) identify your problems, 2) your dependence, and 3) It's level? Pros and Cons now, can you accept the thoughts of change? Is the new struggle?

-So, for me, I need to quit; I did it once 4 to 5 years too, but then one day, I said I needed it to make it through.

-Here I am far ahead; we call that a relapse, but prepared, I filled in the gaps.

-What leads me to the cigarette and what can take me away; this step is Preparation; are you ready today?

-Yes, so, now you found the cause and a re-direct, about to drop the sources, source: "-Alcoholics Anonymous- www.alcoholics-anonymous.org' as a source AA, say you're ready for it, no remorse.

-But there's so much more available, especially for the young I say: Like the 'Kids help phone 1-800-668-6868 (Section 2, p17)" call in, they pick up 24 hours a day.

-So, now you say your ready preparations a go. I got it all ready, now to apply it too.

-You find yourself in action, doing all you can do; salute to the dedication within you.

-Now, here we are, no more usage, it happened; Time to question yourself on whether maintenance can happen.

-There are so many things that can make you fall back; I'll let the first source report that: "Abuse or Dependence has no single cause… 1) Genetic predisposition: Children of alcohol-dependent parents… 2) Psychological stress: Used to help cope… 3) Physical illness: Physical health problems or disabilities [lead to the usage but they] are unable to stop using, even after it is no longer needed… 4) Social Factors: …Model its use… 5) Alcohol sensitivity: [Individuals less physiologically] sensitive to the effects of alcohol… [therefore] drink heavily and develop an alcohol disorder, and 6) Mental Health Problems: …Likely to develop a substance problem if they have [disorders] such as Anxiety (Section 2, p11)."

-SO TO YOUNGER ME, Never let relapse intervene.

Source: "Mental health first aid Canada for adults interacting with youth" Mental Health Commission of Canada, 2010. Pgs, (Section2:p1, p2,p11,p17)

how to
Like

About the Creator

Jessica A. Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.