Journal logo

Starting Your Online Career as a Teen: Is It Possible in 2024?

Is Starting Young Really Such a Good Idea?

By Andrew PretzelPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
Starting Your Online Career as a Teen: Is It Possible in 2024?
Photo by Eliott Reyna on Unsplash

Wow, where do I even begin?

When I was just thirteen years old, all I wanted to do was spend my evenings playing Call of Duty and watching YouTube. The thought of having a career so early seemed impossible. But after taking a chance and learning some new skills last year, I've been shocked by how much opportunity exists these days for young people online.

Last summer was tough.

I felt lost and bored without my normal activities. One day, out of sheer curiosity, I followed a tutorial to build my first basic website. The satisfaction of seeing my creation live blew me away.

I spent every spare moment learning more about coding, design, and digital marketing. Friends jokingly called me "The Professor."

By winter, I had a small side business helping local shops with their online presence. The money was nice, but what really fueled me were the kind words from happy clients.

My experience got me thinking - why should starting a career have to wait? Teens today have so many tools at our fingertips.

If we focus our free time on skills that are in high demand, who's to say we can't find meaningful work and even run our own businesses? Of course it won't be easy. There will be frustrating challenges, steep learning curves, and lots of mistakes along the way. But as long as we stay determined, explore our passions, and put ourselves out there, I really believe the opportunities are limitless right now for go-getters our age.

I'm still stunned some days to see my client list growing.

Working for myself has brought so much fulfillment too. But you know, it's funny - sometimes the friends who once joked about my efforts are now coming to me for career advice!

Who's laughing now, huh?

In all seriousness, I think if more teens applied themselves like I did, they could accomplish amazing things. The future is ours if we want it. We just need to take a chance and start learning.

What have you got to lose, right?

Don't believe anyone who says you're too young to pursue your dreams. If this past year has taught me anything, it's that the online world is ready and waiting for talented, ambitious people of any age to come prove themselves.

The only limits are the ones in our own heads. So what are you waiting for - pick a skill and get practicing!

You never know where it might lead.

As Walt Disney once said

"All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them."

Looking back, I'm amazed at how far I've come in just a year. When I built that first basic website, I never could have imagined the opportunities it would create. Within a few months, my designs had evolved to be much more polished and professional looking.

I started offering additional services like social media management and digital advertising.

Before I knew it, I had more clients than I could properly handle as a one-man show.

By Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

That's when I realized it was time to grow my business.

I recruited some of my tech-savvy friends who had also shown an interest in entrepreneurship. Together we formed a small marketing agency, hiring ourselves out as a team to handle larger clients and more complex projects.

The money and experience has been invaluable, but what I'm most proud of is providing income and career starts for other ambitious teens. We've proven that young people can build real, sustainable businesses with the right skills and work ethic.

Of course it hasn't always been easy.

There have definitely been late nights problem-solving issues, stressful deadlines and more mistakes than I can count along the way. But overcoming those challenges is what's made our agency stronger.

I'm learning so much about managing people, clients and money at a young age.

These are lessons that will serve me well for the rest of my life, no matter what path I choose to take.

social mediahow toeconomybusinessadvice
2

About the Creator

Andrew Pretzel

Anxious and depressed. Muhawahahaha! 😈 Hmm.. wait what? 🥴

>>>> Support my writting on Ko-Fi with just $1 <<<<

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)2 months ago

    This is beautiful. I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.