Journal logo

Sorting out Sinatra for Ray

He would have liked that

By Alan RussellPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Ray had recently had a tooth extracted and during the following days he noticed the wound was not healing as he was bleeding. It got so bad that he had to be admitted to hospital. Before his wife, Jean, took him to hospital she asked if I would mind running their pub and staying overnight in case they got stuck there.

She was sure they would both be home soon.

I hoped he would be home soon as he was one of the most avuncular influences in my life. I was only just twenty one when I started to work part time for him and his wife at their village pub. He mentored me on how to look after customers by recognizing subtle non verbal signals they gave out.

Even if you were busy always acknowledge them when they came in just to let them know you had seen them, especially if they were by themselves. If they sat at the bar with a newspaper or a book then they wanted to be left to get on with their reading. If they came in and sat at the bar then make conversation as that is what they had come in for. Most of all always make them feel important and welcome.

He even trusted me with the keys to the pub and all of the responsibilities that came with them.

Ray was a real mentor about the pub business, life and a fan of Frank Sinatra which he passed on to me.

After the pub closed and I had the place to myself. I went upstairs to the flat with a wind down sandwich and a glass of milk to enjoy while watching TV or reading after a busy evening.

There was the small bureau where Ray kept all of his business records. He had been a purser onboard the ocean liners travelling between the UK and the Far East. It was during those years that he honed his people skills which he was passing on to me. It was also during those years he had acquired the habit of tidiness so it is safe to say all of his business records were in "ship shape".

It was while he was sitting at that bureau that he made me wait for a few minutes trying to think what I had done wrong. What happened was that he and Jean had been away on holiday. When they came back they took over the running of the pub telling me I could have the evening off and pop back the next day to collect my wages which I did.

I was greeted by Jean in the kitchen.

"Hello luvvie...Ray is upstairs and wants to have a chat with you...I don't think he is very happy about something."

On my way upstairs I replayed the last few days trying to think what could possibly have upset Ray. While he was away the place was packed with regulars every session. No one had complained and I certainly don't remember being aware of anyone being upset about anything. The money was correct. The rest of the team were happy. So, what could possibly have gone wrong?

In the living room Ray was sitting at the bureau peering at some papers through his glasses perched halfway down his nose. He looked up at me and pointed towards an armchair indicating I should take a seat. He stood up and looked down at me.

"I am sorry to say I have had a bit of a complaint from when we were away."

My mouth went dry. Sweat broke out all over me. I was getting ready for a merchant navy telling off and possibly even be told I couldn't work for them anymore. I actually loved Ray and Jean and so desperately wanted to keep knowing them and working for them as long as I could but at that moment it all felt like it was going to disappear.

"I'm sorry Ray but who...?" I began to ask before he interrupted me.

"A couple of my customers, yes my customers, complained when I saw them last night...they...and this really hurts me to say this but...they said you...ran the place better than I did."

The relief I felt was huge even though I had been totally hoodwinked by Ray and Jean. He gave me my money and sent me on my way. I passed Jean in the kitchen on the way out.

"Everything alright luvvie? Ray thinks the world of you."

Scattered on the floor were covers from Ray's collection of Frank Sinatra albums. They were not "ship shape". There was one record still in the player and other black vinyl discs were scattered amongst the covers. I was shocked to see how untidy everything looked. How out of character for him to leave his collection in such a state. I started to put the records in their respective covers. On a couple of covers there were some dried dark red blotches. I knew what they were and went to the bathroom to get a damp cloth to wipe them off with. There in the sink were some more of those dark red blotches. As I continued to sort the records out I started to notice more blotches on the carpet.

I eventually only had one spare cover but that was for the record still in the player which I was just going to put back in its sleeve when the phone on the bureau rang.

"Hello, The George" I said.

It was Jean calling.

"Hello luvvie."

Her voice was trembling as he asked if I was alright. Despite Ray's mentoring over being able to read people I utterly failed to pick up what state Jean was in. I told her that I was alright and had just finished sorting out Ray's records.

"Ray would have liked that..."

feature
Like

About the Creator

Alan Russell

When you read my words they may not be perfect but I hope they:

1. Engage you

2. Entertain you

3. At least make you smile (Omar's Diaries) or

4. Think about this crazy world we live in and

5. Never accept anything at face value

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.